***Review of Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire***

11505797

Abby Abernathy is a good girl. She doesn’t drink or swear, and she has the appropriate number of cardigans in her wardrobe. Abby believes she has enough distance from the darkness of her past, but when she arrives at college with her best friend, her path to a new beginning is quickly challenged by Eastern University’s Walking One-Night Stand.

Travis Maddox, lean, cut, and covered in tattoos, is exactly what Abby wants—and needs—to avoid. He spends his nights winning money in a floating fight ring, and his days as the ultimate college campus charmer. Intrigued by Abby’s resistance to his appeal, Travis tricks her into his daily life with a simple bet. If he loses, he must remain abstinent for a month. If Abby loses, she must live in Travis’s apartment for the same amount of time. Either way, Travis has no idea that he has met his match.

Nicole’s Review ~~~

4stars

I realize that it has taken me forever to read this book. I have to say that I really enjoyed this book and the characters in it. Abby and Travis’s relationship was tumultuous at best. I throughly enjoy reading a book when the woman/heroine of the story knows that the guy/hero is a player and is not just gonna drop her panties for him. With that said I do have to say that I was not at all impressed with the way Travis treated Abby. I am sorry if any man did some of the things he did while I was around there is not a chance in hell that I would be with him. I found his behavior at times disgusting and I do understand that it is all part of the drama of the book. The most endearing thing though is Travis truly does care about Abby he just has no clue how to go about the anger.

I absolutely love that Travis’s nickname for Abby is Pigeon; I think it is by far the cutest nickname I have ever read. The struggles that Abby has gone through in her life has left her over protective of how people view her and has made her think she needs a specific lifestyle so that she can move forward and leave the past in the past. Travis is a I don’t give a you know what kind of guy, but at the same time he loves Abby and just wants to be with her.

I appreciate the way the story went and would recommend it to everyone who loves a great drama filled story. The only negative I have to say is what I stated about Travis. Other than that personal opinion this book was amazing. The story was easy to follow, a definite page turner. The characters main and secondary you could feel and fully imagine. I loved Abby standing up for herself and Travis having to realize that he was overlooking Abby the person and instead trying to give her stuff that she didn’t want or need. I could not have asked for a better story.

Purchase Link-
http://www.amazon.com/Beautiful-Disaster-A-Novel-ebook/dp/B008JMKN4Y/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1378234006&sr=1-1&keywords=Beautiful+disaster

4464118

Jamie McGuire was born in Tulsa, OK. She attended the Northern Oklahoma College, the University of Central Oklahoma, and Autry Technology Center where she graduated with a degree in Radiography.

Her most recent novel, Walking Disaster debuted at #1 on the New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal bestseller lists. She has also written bestselling contemporary romance Beautiful Disaster, and the Providence series.

Jamie now lives in Enid, OK with her three children and husband Jeff, who is a real, live cowboy. They share their 30 acres with six horses, three dogs, and Rooster the cat.

About Butterflyreader

There isn't a whole lot to say about me. I am a happily married with 3 wonderful kids. We live a very quiet life I Baltimore, MD. Our youngest daughter is disabled being deaf and suffering from brain damage since birth. She is the light of our lives so bubbly and caring she makes our lives complete. Our other 2 kids live with their other parents, unfortunately this summer my son moved to Florida with his dad but he is happy and that is all that matters. I enjoys reading A LOT, going to flea markets, decorating, painting the house and art and crafts.

Posted on September 3, 2013, in review. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

