***Review*** Love, Life & Everything Else by Xunaira J.

A1BxMc1o6aL__SL1500_ Meet Sarah, a nine-year old girl with a talent for painting and an adoptive family who supports her in everything she does. She lives a happy life with her foster-father who is her idol and her foster-mother who loves her unconditionally. Little does she know that her past will come back to haunt her and an atrocity that happened nine-year ago would come to light. What will be Sarah’s reaction when she is subjected to a past that she has no knowledge of?

Sandy is scared, worried and somewhat irritated because of the weird voices she hears from the attic above. With the help of her best friend, Anne, she decides to find out the source of this all racket but what will she find hidden up there? Would the truth shock her?

Will the frail, old and lonely novelist who had managed to incur an emotion so inside him be able to change the course of his life?

Self-made and hardworking Jenny was looking forward to the opening ceremony of her novel when she is subjected to the hatred and scorn of her best friend, Cindy and made a laughingstock in town. Will Jenny be able to hold her head high?

Nicole’s Review –

4 STARS

I have to start by saying I was giving a copy of this book in return for my honest review. To be very honest I have never really read and/or reviewed a set of short stories before, so please bare with me.

Love, Life and Everything else is a collection of 4 short stories, that seem to have a hidden moral or meaning behind them. First up is Abandoned in the Alley, this one was super touching and actually had my eyes misting a little cause I could not comprehend why someone would leave a baby in a dumpster in the slums of a city. It so little amount of words and pages this author is able to take you on a journey of what it was like for this young girl and her adopted parents. She even manages to sneak a little suspense into this one.

Next up was Footsteps in the Attic and I have to tell you I had goosebumps while reading this. I am a ninny at heart so it is easy to freak me out. The author does a fantastic job in a short amount of time dragging you into this girl hearing footsteps in the attic. I really thought I had this one figured out but man oh man was I wrong.

Third in line was The Novelist, as a huge reader I really could relate to this quick story. We have a young man who has come to recognize an older gentleman everyday he visits the park to the point that when he no longer sees the man he seeks him out. They form a fast bound and are able to grow extremely close in a very short amount of time. There is just something about this one that struck a chord in me.

Finally we are given The Ribbon Cutting Ceremony, and wow did the author end on a bang. I totally did not see this one coming. You have 3 best friends from a small town and one is super successful and the other two support her in her endeavors. Hopefully you will be as shocked as me.

I have to say that I was completely and utterly impressed with the author, as I said in the begin I am not a huge reader of short stories, with that said this author amazed me. I look forward to seeing more of her work. One last little thing and that is several of these stories have such great storylines I would love to see them turned into full length novels.

About the Author –

6556588

Born on October 17, 1990 in Islamabad, Pakistan, to a government officer and a homemaker, Xunaira J, as a child dreamed of being a writer.She always loved writing short stories and has been active on Helium (www.helium.com) as a creative writer. She has been a blogger and been writing articles on relationship and family.When she was young she used to write for US Magazine. Currently, Xunaira is doing her Bachelors in Mobile and Ubiquitous Computing from SZABIST (Shaheed Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto Institute of Science and Technology, Islamabad). The name of her book on Amazon Kindle is “The Cursed City”. Her second book is a joint venture with Ms. Ana Lee and is available in Kindle store with the name of “Mia’s Confession”. Meanwhile, She is working on another volume which is almost reaching completion. She is anticipating to publish it sometime next year.

http://xunairaj.com/

Purchase Link –

http://www.amazon.com/Love-Life-Everything-Else-Xunaira-ebook/dp/B00FQ0P21G/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1383851290&sr=1-1&keywords=xunaira+j

About Butterflyreader

There isn't a whole lot to say about me. I am a happily married with 3 wonderful kids. We live a very quiet life I Baltimore, MD. Our youngest daughter is disabled being deaf and suffering from brain damage since birth. She is the light of our lives so bubbly and caring she makes our lives complete. Our other 2 kids live with their other parents, unfortunately this summer my son moved to Florida with his dad but he is happy and that is all that matters. I enjoys reading A LOT, going to flea markets, decorating, painting the house and art and crafts.

Posted on November 8, 2013, in review. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thanks a lot for such a nice review!

    I simply appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

