**REVIEW** Hell Without You by Renae Rose

18349618

 

Time changes everything, except what’s meant to be.

Seven years is a long time – long enough to transform Clementine from a small-town teenager with a broken heart into a woman ready to take on the world, but not long enough to make her forget about the man she was never supposed to see again. A temporary return to tiny Willow Heights thrusts her back into Donovan’s life and home, unearthing heartbreak and obsession that have stood the test of time.

He left seven years ago too, for war and other things Clementine can only imagine. Coming back to the town where he grew up in the shadow of poverty and drug addiction makes no sense, and neither do Clementine’s feelings for him. He could never forgive her for leaving, could he? Even if she had no choice.

Now, she has the freedom to choose … and so does he. Every day in Willow Heights makes it clearer: all he ever really wanted was her, and nothing will change that. Not even a taste of the hell that drove them apart in the first place.

Where to Buy

Amazon ~ B&N

Goodreads

Amy’s Review:

4 STARS

 

I wasn’t sure what I was getting myself into when I read this book. I have the habit of reading books because the cover catches my eye not even paying attention to the synopsis. I did enjoy this book. I think it is a great book. For me it could use a little work.

Clementine and Donovan were a couple years before this book starts off. She went off to college he went into the military. Now years later that are seeing each other. Things happen that cause her to stay with him for a few days in her grandmothers old house that he bought. You can tell while reading that they honestly still love each other. I felt the emotion but I think it could of been a stronger feeling if more was added to it some how. Like the feeling was there but not strong enough.

For me when they finally decided to get back together it was kinda fast. I thought there would of been more of a fight. Maybe her leaving again before this happened. I didn’t expect it to happen so fast at the beginning. The book is called Hell Without You. So I thought there would of been more Hell because they were not together.

After about the halfway point the book slowed down some. Not to a point of boring but a point of what could happen next. I feel like some things were put in just to fill space. Donovan was a little crazy in my opinion. The whole pot thing and stuff was just a little nuts. I wouldn’t have just taken him to the hospital but found him a damn therapist. Clementine was so so for me. I think I liked Donovan the best. He went through a lot of shit and yet he was still standing tall.

Now after all that above you wonder how can I give it 4 stars with feeling like that. Well it’s simple. Not only was this book written well but it was honestly a good book. It had great characters, interesting things happen, and love between two people who were destined for each other. It had some fillers but that for me didn’t take away from the book in a whole. Not every book can be perfect.

The incident with Trevor was a shocker but for me he got what he deserved. It took some time in the book to find out what he did but once you get there you wouldn’t like him either. The ending was great and I enjoyed the epilogue. It was nice to see a love from so long ago come back just as strong as it was back then years later. This book shows when you find your soul mate not even years will change your love for them. This book was enjoyable and definitely worth checking out.

About the Author

5041254

 

Ranae Rose is the best-selling author of more than twenty adult romances and counting, including the Inked in the Steel City Series and many more. She calls the US East Coast home, and resides there with her husband, child, German Shepherd dogs and overflowing bookshelves. Writing and reading are lifelong passions that consume most of her time, and she’s always working on bringing her latest love story idea to life for readers.

Author Links

Goodreads

Posted on November 15, 2013, in 18+ Reviews, review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

