Lizzy Ford Book Club Review: Severed by Julia Crane and Lizzy Ford

Beautiful woman with curly hairstyle against gray background

 

Two sisters with special gifts and an unbreakable bond …

Cyena and Tyana were born to powerful parents who are among the ruling class on their planet. Their lives are pampered but isolated, constricted to the city walls in which they were born.

Fun loving with a rare but powerful mind power, Tyana is accustomed to being treated like a princess and using her influence to get anything she wants – including protecting her sister from the elders and students who look down on her. The opposite of Tyana in most ways, Cyena’s second-class mind skills make others view her as a blemish on the family bloodline. No one but her sister believes in her.

They don’t know that a war is brewing, until it erupts. A class war tears their perfect world a part, leaving them helpless, alone and worse –severed from one another.

Each girl will risk her life to find the other, and each will be challenged to hone her powers in order to survive environments unlike any they’ve ever experienced.

Find the Book

Amazon, B&N, Goodreads

Book Club Reviews:

Michelle Cochran

I thought this story was very good and it kept my attention. I definitely can’t wait for the next serial in the series. I loved the twist and turns of the story, i definitely can’t wait to see the direction the rest of the series takes.

Chelsea Ingham

5 STARS!!!!!

** spoiler alert ** This was a quick read but kept me intrigued the entire time. It felt a bit rushed but I think that was the point. It was to set up the series and it had lots of action as well as a bit of confusion. I cannot wait to read more. I was not expecting to be as quick as it was but that does not mean I didn’t enjoy it a lot.
It does not even seem like it is written by two authors. Both sisters have a great connection and it’s interesting the lies that were revealed. I am excited to see what happens next, with the sisters being separated. I am also intrigued as to what the future is meant for the skywalker. I also want to see what happens to the sister who is faking who she is so that she isn’t killed.

Maria Real

5 STARS!!!!!

Although it was a pretty short book, I have to say that it truly captured my full attention from beginning to end. I loved all the characters (well except Weldon) he was a complete jerk, but all the others I did love. I look forward to the next book.

Linda Terrutty

Love the pairing of these two authors and was very excited to read this book. I definitely got pulled in from the start, and flew through it…biggest negative? The bloody book ended too soon!!!

I wasn’t expecting the book to have a somewhat dystopian feel, but it did come across that way. Sort of like The Birthmarked Trilogy (although very different too). I liked the sisters who were loyal to each other, but had very different personalities and ambitions. Part of this was based on the fact that they both have different gifts/talents, and in their society, some are more valued than others. In general, the gifts determine what social class and role in society each person will hold. And although they were born into the elite class, they are not treated in the same fashion. I really liked Cyena and her ambitions to be a good person, but also to find something more for herself.

I cannot wait for the next part of the series to see what happens next.

Marilyn Ortega

5 STARS!!!!!

Amazing,I devoured this book not one but twice!!!!!

No spoiler’s as always.
I was given this Arc for an honest review.

Fantastic, brilliantly written not by one but two, Awesomely talented writers, whom I have glued myself to, with no regrets.
This story starts out with funny school like humor, and continues with unexpected strength.
The story of two sisters raised in a family of power, considered Elites, with special abilities that give them their status in their society. A rebellion rising, and the fall of the world they called home, the beginning of a long journey to find each other again.
I can only say that in no way shape or form can you tell that this story was written by two authors, it was just so consistent and the story never fell out of line. I am so looking forward to the next book in this fantastic novella, The only downfall to this book is that I have to wait for book ( #2 Trapped )!!! I can’t wait to see what will become of Cyena and her sister Tyana in the next book!!!!

Amazing Lizzy Ford and Julia Crane!!! If I could give it more than 5 stars I would.

Penny Winnell Brosze

This story is going to be AMAZING!! I love both authors, so my interest was piqued from the start.
These sisters will go to any lengths or planets to get each other back. Welon needs a good smack upside the head, hope he gets his come-upins lol
I’m secretly hoping that Ryker didn’t actually die … we shall see!!
Awesome read .. can’t wait for the rest!!

Tiffany K Halliday, A_TiffyFit’s Reading Corner

I’m not quite sure where I’m coming down on the whole “serial” novel thing. I think in the time of Dickens it would’ve driven me batty waiting for the next installment. I think in the time of Crane & Ford it is going to drive me batty waiting for the next installment! 😛

These two sisters share a bond and they’re about to be separated by space and war. Cyena, having been ridiculed for years now on her TWO gifts not manifesting, is suddenly outside the walls with the commoners, reliant upon Kardon, a new “servant” in her father’s household. Kardon, upon discovering her outside the walls in the midst of the rebellion, hides the fact that she’s of the Elite, a favor in return for the favor she did him earlier when she recognized he stuck out like a sore thumb among the serving class in her father’s household.

Her sister is destined to be the next Starwalker and can pretty much get away with anything. Ripped from one another, Cyena is left outside the wall whereas her sister ends up…far far away. 😉

Total kindle bruiser, kept me punching my kindle to see what happens next. And omg…now I have to wait for the next installment in the series! This is worse than cliffhanging novels! 😛 haha. Loved it.

Patrick Gordon

This was a Great start to a potentially awesome serial book. I like the book a lot and can not wait til the next one comes out.

We first meet the two sisters Cyena and Tyana who were born in the elite class of there society. Tyana is a Starwalker and Cyena is a Reciever and a wall walker. We then find out that there is a civil war about to happen and Tyana and Cyena are seperated and trying hard to get back to each other. The question is though will they be able to find each other again?

Jessica Landram

4 STARS!!!!

Although they are completely different, Cyena & Tyana are best friends as well as sisters. When they go to see what is outside the wall of their home, their life is completely changed. A rebellion will cause the sisters to question everything and forge new relationships.

You can’t tell that this novella was written by 2 amazing women! I’m a huge fan of Julia Crane and Lizzy Ford. The transitions are seamless and the story captivating. This is the first in a new series, so it is short and the ending has you desperately wanting more!

Cherrie Cruz Directo

5 STARS!!!!!

Loved the book! Though it’s short, it sets the story for action. The sisters were presented concisely but very interestingly. It gives the contrast on how the people treated Cyena and Tyana. The conflicts were out, revealing a rebellion and the separation of the sisters. Here comes the action! Can’t wait for the next! 🙂

Ginelle Blanch

5 STARS!!!!!

The first book in a serial series by Lizzy Ford and Julia Crane. Loved the characters. The world they created is vibrant, it’s a very “visual” book. It’s full of emotion, I found myself smiling and fuming with the characters. The book flows well, if you hadn’t looked at the cover, you’d never have known that two different authors wrote the story. Since it IS a serial series, I was prepared for the cliffhanger ending. I thought the authors chose the ending very well, I was happy with it. Looking forward to finding out more about Cyena and Tyana , the rebellion that’s happening in their world and how they will find their way back to each other!

Amanda strickhouser

I really enjoyed this book. I found the characters to be well developed. I loved that the book gave you both sisters points of view. And just when your in the heat of it.. its over.. way to leave me hanging!!

So in this book we find sisters Cyena and Tyana at the Academy Trying to learn to control their powers. Cyena is looked down upon by everyone while Tyana is revered for hers. The girls find them selfs in the middle of a rebellion. While Tyana is forced to leave her home. Cyena is hidden by a friend (?). Both are worried about the other with no way of knowing the other is ok. There is a love story developing with both of them, we will have to wait and see what happens.

Shaswati Panda

One look at the cover page and you will feel… Wow!!! I gotta read this book. And what a read it is!!! Amazing…

When Lizzy Ford and Julia Crane, two most notable authors came together to write the Starwalker Series, one had to be blown away.

Two sisters, one revolutionary uprising, their journey from being together to being separated by war and to find each other again amidst a war that changes their lives overnight…

When the story starts, you will instantly fall in love with the sisters, Cyena and Tyana… Cyena being looked-down upon for not being able to use for two powers and Tyana being worshipped and adored by everybody for being a Starwalker-in-training. The bond between sisters is great. So are all the characters that stay close to the sisters. The story walks you through their aim to discover more about their society beyond the elite, to discover their powers and to what happens when an uprising caught them unawares. What happened in the uprising to separate these two sisters from each other will leave you on the edge of your seats.

A very promising start to the series!!! You will count days to grab the next book… An absolute delight!!!

Posted on February 6, 2014, in Lizzy Ford Book Club Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

