Spotlight: To Speak of it Again by Dina Redmon

10288790_642640375818244_4049336760131423221_n

 


**Blurb**

We all have a story. This is mine…
After tragedy struck our neighborhood, my family and I packed up and moved from our little city home in California to the backwoods of Minnesota. Even at the young age of six, I noticed my surroundings weren’t the only thing that changed.
I learned what fear was. I was scared of the unknown, frightened of failing and terrified of my father coming home.
I thought I escaped it.
Old habits die hard and I continued to live in that fear as an adult. Childhood memories haunted my every step, thought and action. I lived for other’s happiness, denying my own…until I just couldn’t deny it any longer.
I finally escaped.
Hi, I’m Maggie Reed and I’m a survivor.

 

**Excerpt**

Chad asked me to a movie. Mom said I could go as long as his parents picked me up and brought me home. Chad and his father picked me up at seven o’clock on a Saturday night and dropped us off at the theater. We held hands and smiled as we watched the movie together. It was completely sweet and innocent.

After the movie, we went to the sub shop across the street and enjoyed a late night snack. We talked about school and then split a dessert, one milk shake and two straws. * swoon *

Chad’s father picked us up and drove me home. Chad got out of the car and walked me to my front door. I knew this was the moment I had been waiting for, my first real kiss. Nope, instead, he reached up and shook my hand. What a little gentleman.

I used to ride my bike eight miles into town to hang out with him and his family. His sister was a couple of years older than us, and she was so cool. She taught me how to wear my eye makeup and how to line my lips. She was like the big sister I had always wanted.

Chad and I dated for a few months. We decided, for whatever reason, we were better off as friends. *We must have been right because we’re still friends to this day. He’s still a sweet guy even though he has his odd moments.* * wink *

 

http://amzn.to/TiYHxe

www.DinaRedmon.com

https://www.facebook.com/AuthorDinaRedmon1

https://twitter.com/DinaRedmon70

Posted on June 30, 2014, in Spotlight, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

