Author Interview: Kamery Solomon

Author Interview with Kamery Solomon

Kam copy 2

About Kamery:

Kamery is not the person who grew up dreaming of the day that she would clutch her very own novel to her chest, tears brimming over the rims of her eyes as she thought about how she’d written it herself, finally! In fact, anything remotely like that didn’t even happen until she was actually holding her first book in her hand, amazed that she’d written it and wondering how on Earth she’d managed to do it when it hadn’t ever occurred to her to write one until months before. Surprisingly, though, it was just what she never realized she loved doing.

When starting out in life, Kamery had (and still has) big dreams to perform on Broadway. She loves music and acting very much, while she and dance have a love/hate relationship; she would love to do it and every form of dance decides it hates that about her, haha! The one constant she always had between the performing world and the book world were the stories, tales that transported her to other worlds and made her feel like she really could do anything. Finally, she decided she wanted to do that for someone else and sat down to write.

It’s been a few years since she held that first book, realizing that she really liked writing and wanted to do more, but the love that blossomed in that moment has only grown. Currently, Kamery works from home in the White Mountains of Arizona, while taking care of her two adorable kids, a girl and a boy, and talking her sweet husband Jake’s ear off about the insane amount of characters in her head who are ready to fight to the death for a chance at their own novels. She also gets together with other authors in the family and they all gab together, making up The Royal Court of the Queens of Romance. It truly is a wonderful life!

Interview


~What are you currently working on?

I’m currently working on a project called Swept Away. It’s a time travel/historical/fantasy novel involving pirates!

 ~Who is your favorite author?

I have so many that I love! When I was younger, I DEVOURED the Harry Potter series. I loved it sooo much and I feel like it was an important thing in my life because it grew my love of reading so much. Even now, I still think of how I hope to someday write an epic series like that. Thank you J.K. Rowling!

I also have to say that I have two more authors who are near and dear to my heart. If it weren’t for them, I never would have written anything at all. They are, of course, Lacey Weatherford (who is my mother) and Belinda Boring (who is my cousin/soul sister). You wanna talk about amazing women? These two are it!

 ~What writing advice do you have for aspiring authors?

My advice is to not listen to any advice LOL Of course, you should do things like make sure your book is edited and other business-y things, but when it comes to actually writing, there are absolutely no rules. If someone tells you to do it a certain way, that just means they work that way. Don’t ever feel like a failure because you can’t make a giant post-it note timeline on one whole wall in your house. Just because someone else’s way works for them doesn’t mean it’s going to work for you. No two people are the same and books are the same way. Find what works for you and stick to it! And, most of all, BE HAPPY. Nothing is worth it if you aren’t happy.

 ~Do you plot out your story or write as it goes?

It depends on the book. Generally speaking, I always know what happens in the end, but I may have no idea how to get there, haha! There’s always a few key scenes that I know need to happen and I end up coming up with the things between in the spur of the moment. Swept Away is the first book that I’ve really had to plan things in advance because I had to do a lot of research for it. Even though it’s a fantasy novel, it sticks to real history as close as it can.

 ~Do you have writers block and how do you work around it?

I do get writers block, unfortunately. To get back in the mood of the story, I usually listen to my writing playlist while I clean around the house or I watch a movie that’s kinda the same genre/feel of what I’m writing. Seeing someone else’s story take shape always helps my brain get moving again. I talk to my family a lot as well. Sometimes they’re no help LOL but they say one word (something like ice cream or mayonnaise that has absolutely nothing to do with my story) and my brain latches on and starts working again. Thankfully, I don’t get caught up too often J

 ~What are your favorite hobbies?

I LOOOOOOOVE to sing and perform in musicals, haha! That was actually what I wanted to do when I “grew up” (I still want to do it). The Phantom of the Opera is my favorite show and I absolutely must see it whenever I’m in New York City or if the tour comes within a few hours of me, haha!

 ~Do you believe in love at first sight?

I do! I think that kind of happened to me when I very first saw my husband. That was probably more like “I like this cute boy” at first sight, though, haha!

 ~What is one thing no one knows about you?

Well, I tell my husband and my mom everything, so I don’t think there’s something that absolutely no one knows about me, haha! However, something that the majority of people don’t know about me is a little sad story from high school, haha. Basically, I chose to let a group of girls bully me about not being in the top choir (I’d just moved from a much larger school where I was in the top choir) instead of telling them that the teacher had offered to re-audition all of them and replace one of them with me. I didn’t want to hurt anyone’s feeling though, so I told him not to do it. They were very mean to me and never knew that I could have replaced them if I wanted.

 ~If you had a warning label what would it say?

Warning: may burst into song at any moment!

 ~Do you take the “personality” quizzes, like on Buzzfeed/Facebook?

I do, but I don’t ever share the answers, haha!

 ~What is your favorite holiday?

Christmas, without a doubt! I love all the decorations,that cozy feeling you get, and having all of the family together to make wonderful memories.

 ~Favorite quote?

“You are enough. You are SO enough! It is UNBELIEVABLE how enough you are!”

~Sierra Boggess (though, I’m pretty sure she got it from someone else first, haha!)

~What is one of your phobias?

Spiders. They terrify me! I keep trying to get better and recognize that I’m bigger and can take care of it, but NOPE. Those suckers scare me silly. I even called my dad to drive across town and kill one for me when I was TWENTY TWO. I’m a big baby, haha!

Swept Away

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000026_00033]

Dead men tell no tales…

For more than 200 years, the Treasure Pit on Oak Isle has baffled treasure hunters, engineers, and the common man alike. When Samantha Greene arrives, she finds her estranged father has spent years funneling energy and finances into the endeavor, finding nothing.

When an accidental death occurs in The Pit, fulfilling the prophecy that seven lives must end before the treasure can be found, the search kicks into high gear, with more than one party vying for the secrets that lie below. Finding herself the closest to the treasure anyone has ever been, Samantha throws herself into the work, landing among the coveted prize. Just as she’s about to discover what’s truly hidden beneath the island, The Pit begins to flood with ocean water, sweeping her away despite her attempts to swim to the surface.

Upon awaking, Samantha discovers that, not only did she not drown, but the year is 1695—one hundred years before the Treasure Pit was even discovered. Carried off by the pirate Tristan O’Rourke, a rouge Irishman with more than his share of secrets, she soon finds that there is much more than she realized in play. Will she discover the secrets of Oak Isle, or will an unexpected love keep her from finding out the truth? Will she ever make it back to her own time? Perhaps the real question is this; will she want to?

Swept Away teaser:

“Is he dead?”

“It’s not a he, you dolt! Can’t ya see her breasts?”

“I’ve never seen a lady in trousers before, savvy? What do ye reckon? Is she a castaway?”

“If she is, she’s shark bait, for sure. See the cut on her leg?”

“Aye, her legs are about all I can look at, besides her bosom!”

My head was pounding and it felt like I was about to vomit everything I’d ever eaten in my life. But even through the pain haze, the tone of the men’s voices was setting off alarms in my mind. I wasn’t safe, not around them at least.

“What’s amiss over here? Why aren’t you scallywags on board yet?”

“It’s O’Rourke,” one of the men close to me muttered. “Leave it to the Old Salt to spoil our fun. Imagine if she’s whore? Wouldn’t that be lucky?”

“Doesn’t matter if she’s a whore or not, I’ll take her to my bed!”

The men hooted with laughter and I decided I’d played dead long enough.

“You’ll take me to bed if you want to lose an appendage!” I growled, rolling over and stumbling to my feet.

“Blow me down!” the man closest to me exclaimed, skittering away.

Reeling, I grabbed my head with one hand and my injured leg with the other. Standing had not been the best plan. I couldn’t run away even if I wanted. Everything around me was spinning out of control as I tried to stagger away from the group.

“Ha! The lassie’s three sheets to the wind,” one of the men snorted.

“What are you talking about?” I asked in confusion, feeling like rolling over and dying in that moment. My thoughts felt muddied as I tried to remember the last thing I’d been doing.

“I asked what’s going on over here!”

Vaguely, I was aware of another man joining the group, but I was too preoccupied with keeping my feet and clearing my vision to try and see all of them just yet.

“We found the woman passed out on the shore, Quartermaster. We didn’t—ah—quite know what to do with her.”

“Oh, aye? I know ye lot, and ye know that I don’t stand for rape among the crew. Now leave the lass be!”

The man’s voice was gruff and had an accent that I couldn’t place at the moment, but it was obvious that he carried the authority over the other men.

“Aye,” came the mumbled responses.

Unable to keep it together anymore, I fell to the ground—which was sand, I suddenly noticed— and cradled my face in both hands.

Check out Kamery’s Two FREE Books

Stalker Links

Amazon Store: http://www.amazon.com/Kamery-Solomon/e/B00EQJGL6S/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1424717207&sr=8-2-ent

Apple iBooks: https://itunes.apple.com/us/artist/kamery-solomon/id589957926?mt=11

Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/kamery-solomon?store=allproducts&keyword=kamery+solomon

Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/kamerysolomon

Website: www.kamerysolomonbooks.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/KamerySolomon

Twitter: www.twitter.com/KamerySolomon

Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/kamerykae/my-books/

Tumblr: kamerykae.tumblr.com

Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/115654868213276273689/posts/p/pub

Instagram: www.instagram.com/kamerykae

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCtXnsymgOOjgsuQ7Afk9lcQ

Join The Royal Court of the Queens of Romance Facebook group and hang out daily with authors Belinda Boring, Kamery Solomon, and Lacey Weatherford! Multiple weekly giveaways, fun parties, and great friends are all waiting for you!

Group link: https://www.facebook.com/groups/521994111246244/

Posted on March 3, 2015, in Author Interview, paranormal, Romance, Spotlight and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Ginelle Blanch

    I LOVE the cover for Swept Away! It’s amazing…I also LOVE musicals (having been in choir in school for six years). My faves are Phantom and Les Mis!!!! Nice to know more about you, Kamery 🙂

  2. Every time I read anything from this book I get so excited. Can’t wait for the whole thing! ❤

Leave a Reply

