Author Interview: Noelle Stevens

Author Interview with Noelle Stevens

Facebook cover banner

 

~What are you currently working on?

I’m preparing to begin a brand-new romance series that takes place in Malibu, California.

~Who is your favorite author?

I love popular fiction and have many authors that I enjoy. Some are John Grisham, Mary Higgins Clark, and Nora Roberts.

~What writing advice do you have for aspiring authors?

Read as much as you can in the genre in which you’re going to write. That’s the best way to get a feel for the pacing of the stories in that genre—and for pacing in general. Then write, write, write. The more you write, the better you’ll get, and the more you’ll recognize where your strengths and weaknesses are.

~Are you an organized author or scattered?

I’m organized, although I’m a total pantser. In case you’re not familiar with that term, it means I don’t outline. When I’m ready to start a story, I just start. I might have a vague idea of where I want the story to end up, and maybe an idea or two about how to get there, but mostly I just jump in and start writing. If I know exactly what’s going to happen, that takes all the fun out of it for me.

~Do you have writers block and how do you work around it?

I don’t necessarily believe in writer’s block. To me that just means you’re just not sure where the story needs to go. A good solution to that isn’t to think “What happens next?” but rather, “What could go wrong?” That usually gets my creative juices flowing.

~Do you work on 1 story at a time or multiples?

I’ve done it both ways. It’s easier to only work on one story at a time, but it’s nice to be able to switch things up if I’m stuck in a story.

~What is your favorite genre to read?

I love YA dystopian, but I’m also a sucker for a good romance.

~What are your favorite hobbies?

My favorite hobby as far back as I can remember has been to read. My husband and I have an RV and I love it when we take it out into the wilderness and enjoy the beauty of nature while I catch up on the latest book I’ve been reading. I usually get some writing time in as well–it’s nearly impossible to leave that behind.

~Do you believe in love at first sight?

Sure, although it takes time to build a strong relationship.

~Name one of your pet peeves?

When people use the word “literally” incorrectly.

1781236_644262368972702_1749383522_o

~What’s the one thing you can’t live without?

Chocolate.

~Most hated chore?

Mopping the floor. First you have to move the furniture, then you have to sweep the floor, then you have to get the bucket and fill it with water and soap, and only then can you mop the floor. Way too many steps—and I end up all sweaty! I hate that 🙂

~Have you ever been in trouble with the police?

No. I’m too much of a rule-follower.

~If you had a superpower, what would it be?

To never need sleep. I don’t mean like insomnia where you’re desperate to sleep but just can’t. I mean not needing to sleep but feeling like you’ve slept well.

~If you could only eat one meal for the rest of your life, what would it be?

I have two cats and sometimes I think it would be nice to eat the same thing at each meal and not to have to figure out what to eat all the time. But in reality, I know I would get sick of the same thing.

~Do you like or dislike surprises? Why or why not?

I like surprises—if they’re good surprises!

~What’s your favorite fast food chain?

Cafe Rio. I LOVE their food.

~If you had a warning label what would it say?

Don’t wake me in the middle of the night unless there’s an emergency. I often have a hard time shutting my brain off and going to sleep, and if I wake during the night it can take me well over an hour to fall back asleep. Very annoying!

~What is your favorite TV show?

The Walking Dead

~Do you like to go out or stay home?

I’m a total homebody. I don’t need to socialize much, and I’m perfectly happy being at home by myself all day—perfect for a writer.

~What is your favorite movie?

The Lord of the Rings”. I’d never read the book until I’d seen “The Fellowship of the Rings”. Honestly, this is one movie where I like the movie better than the book.

~What is your preferred method to violently kill someone (in your book, of course)?

I can never violently kill someone in my books, so I seriously doubt I could do it in real life—although as a fan of The Walking Dead I’d like to think during the Zombie Apocalypse I’d be as bad-ass as Carol or Michonne. 🙂

image-5-the-walking-dead-season-5-s-biggest-shock-will-it-be-daryl-15d1ab13-c9d8-4774-92a1-7d8bd76f55c9

~Do you take the “personality” quizzes, like on Buzzfeed/Facebook?

Yes, I like to take those quizzes, although the results don’t always seem accurate.

~What is your favorite holiday?

New Years. The hustle and bustle of Christmas is over and you can have lots of good food without the pressure of all the pomp and circumstance of Christmas.

 

Stranded (The Stranded Trilogy)

24392762

Amazon

This book is FREE!!!

New college graduate Ashley Spencer has big plans. Now that she has her degree, she’s ready to conquer the world, but while driving to a new city she gets caught in a blizzard. Not used to that kind of weather, and on an unfamiliar road, she slides off into a snowbank and gets stuck. Lucky for her, Colton Drake comes along and rescues her. The only trouble is, he’s used to getting what he wants, and what he wants is Ashley, but she’s not so sure she wants him.

Stuck in his cabin until the blizzard ends, will they drive each other crazy–or will their forced confinement drive them into each other’s arms?

Stalker Links

Website

Amazon Author Page

Facebook

 

 

Posted on March 5, 2015, in 18+, Adult, Author Interview, Romance, Spotlight, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

