Author Interview: C.G. Powell

Author Interview with C.G. Powell

sss

~What are you currently working on?

I’m working on 3 stories right now. Miss Conceived which is the third book in the Miss Series, Wardriving, the last book in the Logic Series and Hy-Jinx, the second book of the Tales from the Pleasure Planet Rinwal.

~Who is your favorite author?

My favorite author is Marion Zimmer Bradley.  I love her Darkover series.

~What writing advice do you have for aspiring authors?

Write, write, write…and then write some more.  The rough draft is only the first step to publishing.

~Which of your characters is your Book Boyfriend?

Sarik from Immortal Voyage. Why? I love him because he’s a snarky son-of-a-bitch, but he always does the right thing.

~Are you an organized author or scattered?

I’m slightly organized.

~Do you plot out your story or write as it goes?

I do both, I will outline key things such as a particular scene when it comes to me, but I’m mostly a pantster.

~Which one of your characters is your absolute favorite?

Tam from Immortal Voyage. Why? He is so sweet he will make your teeth hurt.  Not to mention people have fought over who’s book boyfriend he is.

~Which one is your least favorite?

Baal from Spell Checked. Why? He has not one single redeeming quality, as everyone will see in Firewall and Wardriving when you get a full dose of him.

~Do you have any strange writing habits?

No, not really.

~Do you have writers block and how do you work around it?

Occasionally, I don’t know where I’m going with a story or a particular scene.  Usually a walk or long shower will fix the problem, or even talking to others about the story.

~Do you work on 1 story at a time or multiples?

I used to work on only one story at a time, but now that I have 3 series out, I find myself working on several things at once.

~What is your favorite genre to read?

Sci-fi, Fantasy, Romance….

~What is the most wacky/crazy weird thing you received from a fan?

There are fans that send things?

~If you could go back in time what is one thing you would tell your teenage self?

The numbers to the 400 Million Dollar Power Ball….

~What are your favorite hobbies?

Knitting, painting, making book swag (which I get to do every day because I own The Book Swag Shop on Etsy).

~Do you believe in love at first sight?

No, not love…Physical attraction yes.

~Name one of your pet peeves?

Leaving the dish sponge and scrubby in the sink with the dirty dishes…WHY!!!!!

~If you were a genie, what wish would you absolutely not grant?

More wishes.

~Favorite drink? Alcoholic or not.

Monster, even though I know it’s bad for me.

~What’s the one thing you can’t live without?

Air…everything else is pretty much up for negotiation.

~If you could date a celebrity who would it be and why?

Jimmy Fallon, solely on entertainment value.  Can you imagine going to a club and just sitting at a table pointing to people going “Ew, it’s my step-dad Gary.”
51d9b3e363d2b3a24ab1e8b6b28f54bc.363x334x30

~What is one thing no one knows about you?

There is a long list of things to which I’d rather not speak of…trust me, it’s to protect both parties.

~Favorite sport/sports team?

I don’t have one.

~Do you have any hidden talents?

I can repair the electronics on an EP3E and F18 aircraft from beginning to end.

~Most hated chore?

Picking up after other people. I actually like cleaning, just not picking up.

~Pick two celebrities to be your parents.

My parents are already rock stars..

~Have you ever been in trouble with the police?

No, but I’ve had sex in a squad car with an officer…does that count as trouble?…I think he’s in more trouble than I am.

~If you had a superpower, what would it be?

To know everything and remember it.

~If you could only eat one meal for the rest of your life, what would it be?

Arsenic, because I would want to die to spare myself from such a travesty.

~Do you have any nicknames?

No, nicknames are frowned upon by the establishment.

~Do you like or dislike surprises? Why or why not?

I’m not a big fan of surprises.  I guess that stems from a long history of failed surprises…

~What’s your favorite fast food chain?

I don’t really have one.  Let’s just say I have commitment issues.

~If you had a warning label what would it say?

I’m known to be brutally honest, and have a total disregard for feelings.

~What is one thing you will never do again?

Jump out of a perfectly good airplane.

~What was your first job?

Biological Aid in Entomology for the USDA.

~Who is one person you would like to meet for coffee?

Myself two weeks ago so we can have that little talk about lotto numbers.

~What is the best joke you’ve ever played on someone or had played on you?

At my friend’s wedding reception, I wired their brake lights to the car horn so the horn would go off every time they braked.  Or was it the time I paid a jeepney driver $20 American to take one of my pilots back to base (Cubi Point) after a night on the town.  The next morning I got a call from a very pissed off officer that I had to go pick-up in Manila.

~What is your favorite TV show?

The First 48.

~Do you like to go out or stay home?

I’m a home body.

~What is your favorite movie?

Pitch Perfect

~What is your preferred method to violently kill someone (in your book, of course)?

Death by Dragon.

~Are you a Tom boy or a girly girl?

A little of both.

~Do you take the “personality” quizzes, like on Buzzfeed/Facebook?

Yes…Did you know, I’m only 10% pure, my hair color should be blue, I could survive indefinitely outdoors, my aura is red….

~What is your favorite holiday?

Mardi Gras.

~What is your favorite/ go to cuss word?

Well, crap.

~Do you have any piercings/tattoos? If so where?

Only my ears.  A single hole on each side.

~Do you like tattooed bad boys or sweet good guys?

Sweet good guys for sure.

~Favorite quote?

Write drunk, edit sober ~Ernest Hemmingway

~What is one of your phobias?

I don’t really have one.

Books by the Author

 The Logic Series

Spell Checked

Firewall (Summer 2015)

Wardriving (Winter 2015)

Terra Stellar

Immortal Voyage

Cat Napped (short)

The Ghost of Yuletide Past (short)

Zero Gravity

Hy-Jinx (Summer 2015)

The Miss Series

Miss Stake (short prequel)

Miss Fortune

Miss Conceived (Fall 2015)

Other Stories

Hooked

Stalker Links

Facebook

Twitter

Website

Posted on March 9, 2015, in Author Interview, Romance, Spotlight and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Awesome interview! I love the questions and quick responses. Funny how she wanted to go back in time to get powerball numbers and how she wanted to meet herself-from-two-weeks-ago over coffee to discuss lotto numbers. 🙂 I thought that was fun.

Leave a Reply

