Author Interview: Shannon Eckrich

Author Interview with Shannon Eckrich

74063_10200148115366581_509401862_n

~What are you currently working on?

I’m currently working on editing Another Side of Forever (a sequel to my first novel, Other Side of Forever), and I have just started writing book number two to Kissing the Devil. Both are being released later this year.

~Who is your favorite author?

Wow, that’s a difficult question. I have so many favorites, and I’m picking up new ones every day. I guess I would have to go with two authors who have inspired me the most. That would be Alyson Noel and Gayle Forman. Now, if we’re talking Indie Authors, I would say Sarah Jayne Carr, Michelle Clay, Mariana Thorn, and Bella Forrest. I warned you my list was long.

~What writing advice do you have for aspiring authors?

Read. Read. Read. Reading is the most important thing. You learn through reading books. Also, never give up.

~Which of your characters is your Book Boyfriend? Why?

Is it sad to say all my main male characters are my book boyfriends? Seriously, it’s the truth. I base my male characters off of what I want in a guy.

~Are you an organized author or scattered?

*Laughing* What’s organization? I am not organized at all when it comes to writing. I have little notes everywhere. Sometimes I find old notes and I just chuckle.

~Do you plot out your story or write as it goes?

I’ve tried the whole plotting and outlining thing, and it just didn’t work for me. My characters tend to take on a life of their own. Everything comes to me as I’m writing the story.

~Which one of your characters is your absolute favorite? Why?

All of my heroines are my favorite, but the one who holds my heart the most is Allie Anderson from Other Side of Forever. I guess it’s because she’s my first.

~Which one is your least favorite? Why?

Tobias from Other Side of Forever is my least favorite. He’s a self-centered immortal who wants nothing more than to rule the world, and he’ll stop at nothing to do it.

~Do you have any strange writing habits?

I guess that depends on what is considered strange. When I write, I have to be sitting in my recliner in the living room with a cup of Sprite next to me.

~Do you have writers block and how do you work around it?

Yes, I do get writers block. The way I normally work around it is to listen to music, read, or just go for a drive. Sometimes it’s pretty stubborn and I just have to wait it out.

~Do you work on 1 story at a time or multiples?

Most of the time I work on one story at a time. I’m so afraid the wrong characters will end up in the wrong novel, but I guess that wouldn’t be a wrong thing. It might make it a little interesting.

~What is your favorite genre to read?

I read all kinds of genres, but I mainly get drawn into young adult. 

~What are your favorite hobbies?

Reading, writing, and volunteering at my local firehouse.

~Do you believe in love at first sight?

Oh, gosh, yes! It was love at first sight when I met my husband. We were both fifteen, and it was the first day in tenth grade. We’ve been together for 22 years.

~Name one of your pet peeves?

Cracking your knuckles. I’m not sure what it is, but the sound gets under my skin.

~Favorite drink? Alcoholic or not.

Sprite.

~What’s the one thing you can’t live without?

Besides my family, it would have to be my computer.

~If you could date a celebrity who would it be and why?

Well, if I was single, it would be Theo James. I don’t think I have to explain why.

~What is one thing no one knows about you?

I have to sleep with a TV or a light on. I blame Stephen King.

~Do you have any hidden talents?

I’m pretty good at drawing. I also like to make my own floral arrangements.

~Most hated chore?

Since I don’t have a dishwasher, it would be doing the dishes.

~Have you ever been in trouble with the police?

Sort of, but it wasn’t my fault. Seriously. My hubby (boyfriend at the time) distracted a friend’s parents so our other friends could egg his car on mischief night in tenth grade.

~If you had a superpower, what would it be?

I would love to have the ability to teleport. That would be so much faster than walking, driving, or flying.

~If you could only eat one meal for the rest of your life, what would it be?

Barbequed chicken, corn on the cob, and my mother’s potato salad.

~Do you like or dislike surprises? Why or why not?

That depends. I love them if I don’t know about them, but if you tell me you have a surprise and don’t tell me what it is it drives me nuts.

~What’s your favorite fast food chain?

It’s a toss-up between Kentucky Fried Chicken and McDonalds.

~If you had to describe yourself as an animal, which one would it be?

Definitely a cat. They are always so quiet, but yet, you know they are secretly plotting something.

~What was your first job?

I was a cart girl at Metro Food Market. I’m not even sure if that chain of grocery stores is still around.

~Who is one person you would like to meet for coffee?

Mariana Thorn. We talk all the time online, but we’ve never met in person.

~What is your favorite TV show? I have a couple.

The Witches of East End, and ghost, mystery, or legend shows, and basically everything on the I.D. Channel.

~Do you like to go out or stay home?

It depends on my mood. Most of the time I like to stay home.

~What is your favorite movie?

What Dreams May Come

~Are you a Tom boy or a girly girl?

Definitely, a Tom boy.

~Do you take the “personality” quizzes, like on Buzzfeed/Facebook?

Sometimes

~What is your favorite holiday?

Christmas

~What is one of your phobias?

Snakes

Excerpt from Kissing the Devil

shannon4 (4)

Anger consumed me as I glared at Jezebel. How could she be so irresponsible? I shook my head and walked away from her, desperate to get home. Stepping away from the party, I made my way back to her SUV. I opened the door and rooted through the glove box. Bingo. A small flashlight brushed against my fingers. I took the flashlight and shut her door as I flipped on the light. I swallowed hard as my focus shifted down the small road. I didn’t want to attempt to walk home, but what other choice did I have? I couldn’t stay here.

Deciding facing the darkness was better than being overwhelmed by people at the party, I started down the dark road, the small light bouncing around over the ground in front of me.

Only walking for about fifteen minutes, I couldn’t take anymore. There were too many noises, too many terrifying visions, rolling inside my head for me to continue. I had no choice. I had to call my mother. I pulled my phone out of my back pocket and put in my password, unlocking the phone.

I scrolled through my contacts as my mother’s name lit up the screen, but then my finger froze as a high pitched scream came from the trees right behind me. All feeling drained from my body as I tried to swallow.

Tree branches snapped, twigs cracked, as I stood there, in the dark, unable to move. Then, as if I wasn’t terrified enough, loud breathing sounded behind me. I closed my eyes, unwilling to turn around, as hot breath blew across my neck.

I held my breath as warm moisture stung my eyes. My hands, my legs, my entire body trembled. I couldn’t stop the shaking, couldn’t calm the pounding in my pulse.

A familiar sound, wings flapping, came from right behind me. It was then I lost all control as I took off for the trees in front of me. I had no idea where I was going or which way I was going. All I knew was that I had to run, run, run.

The stress, the fear, caused my heart to pound against my chest as I pushed my legs forward, faster, through the forest. The beast wasn’t that far behind me. The sound of his heavy breathing and the flapping of his wings were closing in on me. What would he do if he caught me? Would he finally kill me this time?

The light on the flashlight continued to guide my way. Then a miracle happened. Somehow, with all my running, I managed to wander onto the path to Sam’s house. Sam.

The thought of Sam gave me hope, gave me the will to run faster through the trees. Even though an achy pain pressed down on my legs, I kept going. My life depended on it.

Sam’s house finally came into view as the beast behind me let loose another terrifying scream. His wings flapped harder as if he knew what my plan of escape was.

Once I reached Sam’s house, I raced up the steps and didn’t hesitate to burst through his door. Lucky for me, it was unlocked.

“Sam!” I swung around and slammed his door, locking the rusty deadbolt over top of it. I turned around, feverishly scanning the room for Sam. The house was empty even though a candle was flickering on his table. “Sam,” I called again, my voice cracking as the terror set in.

What if the monster already got to him? What if he was dead? What if—”

Something hard slammed up against Sam’s door, shaking it from its wooden frame. Another high pitched scream wailed behind the door, before it slammed into the door again.

“No,” the word slipped from my lips as I began backing up, eyes still focused on the door. It was going to break down the door. And I was trapped. I had nowhere to go. My back suddenly slammed into a wall and my knees weakened as I shook my head, my body sliding down to the floor. I pushed my knees up to my chest and threw my hands over my eyes, knowing this was where I was going to die.

The door finally burst open, but instead of hearing wings or another scream, I heard something rolling across the floor.

I splayed my fingers open, peering out of the cracks. Sam was lying on the floor in front of the door. He was completely nude as he rolled around, a low moan coming from his lips.

“Oh, god, Sam!” I sprung to my feet and raced toward him, but as I got closer, something didn’t seem right. Where was the devil, and why was Sam naked? What was going on? Nothing seemed to make any sense.

I backed up against the wall again and slid back down to the floor, watching as Sam slowly rolled over to face me. His greenish-yellow eyes were no more. They were glowing green.

Purchase

Kindle

Paperback

Stalker Links

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authorshannoneckrich

TSU: https://www.tsu.co/authorshannoneckrich

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ShannonEckrich

Website: www.shannoneckrich.com

Posted on March 17, 2015, in Author Interview, Romance, Spotlight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

