Author Interview: J.D. Nelson

Author Interview with J.D. Nelson

6060770

~What are you currently working on?

A lot! I like to work on several novels at once. If I had to pick one, I’d say that I’m spending most of the time on book two of my Wicked Ways Series, Wolves Will Be Wolves.

~Who is your favorite author?

Molly Harper, hands down. I love her snarky humor.

~What writing advice do you have for aspiring authors?

Write, write, write! Then read a little. There’s only one way to get started, and it helps to stay abreast of what’s hot in books at the moment.

~Which of your characters is your Book Boyfriend? Why?

Nils from the Night Aberrations Series. I modeled him after my sexy hubby, crass mouth and all.

~Are you an organized author or scattered?

So. Very. Disorganized.

~Do you plot out your story or write as it goes?

You know what they say about the best laid plans! LOL I do write an outline…which promptly gets tossed around chapter three. The story may end the same, but the journey to get there is always different.

~Which one of your characters is your absolute favorite? Why?

Viggo from the Night Aberrations Series. I still haven’t quite figured him out. The rest of my characters are so clear in my mind, but not Viggo. He remains a mystery.

~Which one is your least favorite? Why?

Thom from the Wicked Ways Series. He was just an awful, hateful character that I really didn’t enjoy writing. Thankfully, he didn’t have much of a part.

~Do you have any strange writing habits?

​I write in bed 95% of the time. ​

~Do you have writers block and how do you work around it?

I do. The best remedy is to not over think anything. Things will come naturally…just not when you’re watching 7 season​s​ of Gilmore Girls.

~Do you work on 1 story at a time or multiples?

Definitely multiples. I’m writing a Halloween themed paranormal romance ( Too Cute to Spook), Book Two of the Wicked Ways Series (Wolves Will Be Wolves), and an Erotic Romance … okay, it’s Erotica (Ravish),​ at the moment.

~What is your favorite genre to read?

Paranormal Romance! I love Molly Harper, BDB, anything by Nalini Singh, and countless others.

~What is the most wacky/crazy weird thing you received from a fan?

A two page rant about how I should write about Fairy Mythology. Merlin and the knights of the Round Table were in there somewhere. It was a little odd, especially considering I DO write about faeries in the Night Aberrations Series.

~If you could go back in time what is one thing you would tell your teenage self?

Not much. I had my son at sixteen, but I wouldn’t trade him for anything, and I believe that every step (or misstep) that I’ve taken has led me to the path I’m on now. I’m very happy with that path. 🙂

~What are your favorite hobbies?

Honestly, reading and TV. I commute 4 hours a day and work a full-time job, on top of my writing, so I have zero time. I envy my earlier years when I would drive my grandma crazy with, “I’m bored!”

~Do you believe in love at first sight?

No … for two reasons. One, every man I’ve married or dated after a ‘spur of the moment’ attraction has turned sour. There has to be something deeper than looks and sex to make things work. And two, when I was 24, a man walked up to me, introduced himself, and told me, in no uncertain words, that I was the most beautiful girl he’d ever seen. You could see it in his eyes; he meant every earnest word that he was saying. Yes, of course, I was flattered by this. I mean, who wouldn’t be? And yes, I wanted to ride off into the sunset with this stranger (OMG … so hot), but if there’s one thing I am, it’s honest. I told him that I was married … with a boyfriend, which was absolutely true (and totally not as bad as it sounds), and not surprisingly, he was crushed. He really thought I was the one, and I really thought I was saving him a whole lot of trouble by​ shooing him away. Ever since then, I’ve had a different perspective​ of things. Love at first sight is nice to read in romances, but in the real word, it’s not really practical to hold out any hope. I feel like I should sign this… Love, Debbie Downer. 

~Name one of your pet peeves?

Inconsistency​, which is ironic because I am so scattered.

~If you were a genie, what wish would you absolutely not grant?

Infinite wishes. No one needs that … no one.

~Favorite drink? Alcoholic or not.

I honestly don’t have one. ​I often complain that because we have too many choices at the store, I’ve become spoiled and nothing tastes “good” anymore. This also goes for potato chips … and cereal …and candy.

~Favorite sport/sports team?

​I rarely watch sports, but when I do, it’s the Alabama Crimson Tide (Roll Tide) and the San Jose Sharks.​

~Do you have any hidden talents?

​I had to ask my hubby on this one. He said that I was a good singer. I disagree, but he insists it’s true. ​

~Most hated chore?

​Dishes, the cat box, cleaning my bathroom … basically any chore.​

~Pick two celebrities to be your parents.

​Kathy Bates (I just love her) and Bruce Willis.

~Have you ever been in trouble with the police?

​When I was a teenager I got sent to the Juvenile Detention Center for resisting arrest. My boyfriend’s mother said something really ugly to my face, and I politely tried to kick her ass while the cops were standing there.​

​~If you could only eat one meal for the rest of your life, what would it be?

​Chicken Parm! YUM!​

~What’s your favorite fast food chain?

​I try to eat organic and Non-GMO when I can, so the only one I feel comfortable eating at is Chipotle.​

~If you had a warning label what would it say?

​Contents under pressure! Being stressed out is a daily thing for me, and sometimes, the smallest thing can set me off.

~If you had to describe yourself as an animal, which one would it be?

​A cat. I’m lazy and love to sleep.​

~What is one thing you will never do again?

​Fingers crossed … I will never have another child. Once was enough for a lifetime.​

~What was your first job?

I worked at a tree nursery in Alabama.​

~Who is one person you would like to meet for coffee?

​Anderson Cooper. We share a great-grandfather on my maternal side. ​

~What is your favorite TV show?

​Gilmore Girls. I LOVE that show. I just wish I would’ve started watching it years ago. I finally craved and watched all 7 seasons a few months ago. Now, it’s my go-to show when I need background noise.​ ​

~Do you like to go out or stay home?

​I am one of the worst recluses I know, though me and my hubby usually go out for dinner and drinks on Friday night.​ Okay, I go out for drinks, and hubby watches me get sloppy drunk. LOL

~What is your favorite movie?

​That is such a hard question!​ I love just about all of the romantic comedies out there. I really love the Holiday with Jude Law and Cameron Diaz.

~What is your preferred method to violently kill someone (in your book, of course)?

I have them do it themselves.​

~Are you a Tom boy or a girly girl?

​Do girly girls climb trees and know what ants taste like?​ Nope (FYI…they’re peppery)! I’m definitely a tomboy with girly tendencies. I never wear dresses or stop cussing, but I do enjoy having a door opened for me.

~Do you take the “personality” quizzes, like on Buzzfeed/Facebook?

​Yes! All the time. I’m 90% pure on the latest purity quiz I took. ;-)​

~What is your favorite holiday?

​Christmas.​ I decorate for days! Well, except my trees (yes, trees). Those, I Saran Wrap up with the ornaments in place for next year and hide them in my pantry.

~What is your favorite/ go to cuss word?

​The Eff word. I use it constantly!​

~Do you have any piercings/tattoos? If so where?

​No tattoos (I’m not a fan)​ and only one hole in each ear. In my early twenties, I had a tragus piercing, a nose ring, and seven other holes in my ears.

~Do you like tattooed bad boys or sweet good guys?

Bad good guys! I like a rough exterior to hide a guy’s heart of gold.​

~What is one of your phobias?

​Germs and bacteria! Ugh. I’ve been diagnosed with OCD​, but I’m working on overcoming the fear.

Stalker Links

Facebook

Goodreads

Posted on March 19, 2015, in Author Interview, Romance, Spotlight and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

