Author Interview: Stacey Rourke

Author Interview with Stacey Rourke

authorphoto~What are you currently working on?

I am currently working on Steam, the third and final installment of my Legends Saga. I have loved this series so much and am thrilled to be back to writing it!

~What writing advice do you have for aspiring authors?

Read! It was Stephen King who said “only through reading do we have the tools to write.” Stock your tool box by reading as much and as often as you can!

~Which of your characters is your Book Boyfriend? Why?

Rowan from the Gryphon Series. He is an arrogant pirate only out for himself, until he meets Celeste. For her he breaks his self-serving habits. I won’t lie, he makes me weak in the knees.

~Do you plot out your story or write as it goes?

Both. I plot, outline, and storyboard, yet as I’m writing the story always veers off in directions even I didn’t see coming. That’s part of the organic flow of writing and I love it!

~Favorite drink? Alcoholic or not.

Rum and sweet tea!

~If you could date a celebrity who would it be and why?

Colin O’Donoghue, (Captain Hook on Once Upon a Time) he’s beautiful, Irish, and plays the guitar. ‘Nuff said

~What is one thing no one knows about you?

I can actually make myself stop hiccuping just by concentrating on it. True story. It’s like a Jedi mind trick.

~What is your favorite/ go to cuss word?

I never swear around my kids, but when they are in bed or gone I could make a sailor blush. My favorite is to weave the words together in a long string of offensive expletives.

~Do you like tattooed bad boys or sweet good guys?

Tattooed bad boy with a heart of gold

~Favorite quote?

“Write drunk, edit sober,” Ernest Hemingway

~What is one of your phobias?

Garden gnomes and snakes. Show me a snake coiled around a garden gnome and I’m going to need a change of pants.

Excerpt from Adapted for Film, releasing March 9

“I think I get it. If a butterfly were to land on you, its touch would be so delicate that you would wonder if it had really happened at all, or if it was merely your mind fantasizing that such a rare beauty would honor you with the gift of their touch.”

A gorgeous man uttering such poetry temporarily short circuited my brain. Catching myself doing the slack-jawed fan-girl thing, I quickly snapped my mouth shut and averted my gaze to a nonthreatening cement turtle by the edge of the gazebo.

“Yep,” I muttered to the turtle. “I think you’ve got it.”

Unfortunately for my last remaining shred of dignity, Greyson wasn’t done with his tutorial. He closed the distance between us with a burning hunger blazing in his eyes. A hot flush rose in my cheeks, creeping clear up to my earlobes as his sculpted body skimmed against mine. Toned, rigid perfection only a few thin layers of fabric away …

“What are you doing?” My voice failed me, coming out in a raspy yelp.

“Making sure I’ve got this right.” Temptation, of the most carnal variety, emanated off of him. His focused gaze followed the curve of my lips, the lift of one brow promising toe-curling fun.

It had been a really long time since someone had looked at me like that. Much less one of the sexiest men on the planet. That almost never happened.

“Aiden wouldn’t grab Paige, wouldn’t pull her to him.” Raising one hand, he traced the length of my arm with two fingers.

Starting at my wrist, he worked his way up. His skin never actually made contact, but whispered over mine in an electrifying rush that rolled and built. Bowing his head, his silky locks tickled my cheek. Hot breath teased over my collarbone, awakening a need so powerful my hands curled into tight fists at my sides. Agonizingly slow, he raised his head. The blissful torment of his lips teased over mine, setting the veil of energy between us alive with desire.

“He wouldn’t want to crush her lips with his need,” he murmured against my mouth, “but would wait … patiently for her to close that last … remaining … space.”

Stalker Links

www.facebook.com/staceyrourkeauthor

Twitter and Instagram @rourkewrites

rourkewrites.weebly.com

 http://www.amazon.com/Stacey-Rourke/e/B0062KO148/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1425050061&sr=8-2-ent

Posted on March 22, 2015, in Author Interview, Romance, Spotlight and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

