Author Interview: Jessica Wilde

Author Interview with Jessica Wilde

Profile Picture

~What are you currently working on?

The 4th book in the Brannock Siblings series, Protector. This will be the father and mother’s story and also a lot of updates on the present day with the siblings.

~Who is your favorite author?

Oh man that is a hard one. I have a lot of favorites but the ones that stick out to me and that I have read almost EVERY book from are Lila Rose, R.L. Mathewson, L.A. Fiore, JM Sevilla, Dorothy Keddington, Rebecca Yarros, Katy Regnery…. You know what? I have so many that I couldn’t list them all!  There are so many amazing authors out there both known and unknown.

~What writing advice do you have for aspiring authors?

Keep going. Don’t give up on it and always be open to new things. Step out of your comfort zone, not necessarily with topics to write about but with the social and networking part of it. Don’t be afraid to talk to people or ask for help or sign up for things you are terrified to do because once you do those things, you will open so many doors.

~Which of your characters is your Book Boyfriend? Why?

All of them haha!! Every single one of my heroes have a piece of my husband in them whether it is personality or looks. BUT if I had to choose only one, I would say Jack from Ricochet. He is so patient and strong and never gives up on Ari no matter what and he isn’t afraid to feel love for her. He opens himself up to it and that is what I consider a real man.

~Are you an organized author or scattered?

That depends on the day. Most of the time while I am writing, I am very organized, but if I spend a lot of time on other things then I can get a little scattered. I am a huge believer in sticky notes and marker boards and lists J I am trying to get more organized and things are looking really good.

~Do you plot out your story or write as it goes?

For the most part, I have a basic foundation and plot for a story. I know what is going to happen and who is going to be involved. Two of my books, Every One of Me and Leverage, came to me so quickly that I just started writing and the story flowed. I hadn’t been expecting either one of them and I assume that will happen a lot in the future.

~Which one of your characters is your absolute favorite? Why?

Jocelyn from Our Time. She is so strong and such a good mother and has the kind of outlook on life that is very important to have. Love is what makes the world turn and all of my characters realize that at some point but Jocelyn had it from the very beginning.

~Which one is your least favorite? Why?

Ellie from Every One of Me. If you read the book, you will understand why. I hated writing the scenes she was in because I always knew exactly how awful she was going to be. But she was very necessary.

~Do you have any strange writing habits?

I don’t know if it is strange, but I eat a lot of Fruit by the Foot while I write and Twizzlers. I am trying to cut back on the Peace Tea, but it seems to help with inspiration. HAHA! I also sometimes have ADD while I write. Something four chapters away will come to me and I will suddenly start writing that. It isn’t very often that I write completely linear. I also bring my husband in often just to talk because he reminds me what love should be like and that helps me with the Heroes and how they think.

10000-16000-19990-1600019990CF

~Do you have writers block and how do you work around it?

Occasionally I will have writer’s block but it usually doesn’t last too long. That is another situation where I will bring my husband in or go to him and just talk about anything. Halfway through our conversation, I almost always get some inspiration.

~Do you work on 1 story at a time or multiples?

I try to FOCUS on one story, mainly, but there are times where I am actively writing two or three. If I don’t, I will lose the ideas so I try to at least get them down so I can come back to them later and sometimes a scene will just HAVE to be written down no matter what book I am trying to finish.

~What is your favorite genre to read?

Romance obviously, but I LOVE historical romances/ highlander romances. Something about the way the characters fall in love and the situations they find themselves in fascinate me. Plus I love imagining the Scottish accents.

~What is the most wacky/crazy weird thing you received from a fan?

I haven’t really gotten anything crazy or weird from a fan, but I have been threatened with something crazy from a friend/blogger/fan! Chucky dolls and just plain dolls. I was scared of the mail for a while around Christmas.

big_thumb_4e8fc68fc21cc3c292388051de3d37d3

~If you could go back in time what is one thing you would tell your teenage self?

Don’t date so and so because he will end up being a douche bag.

~What are your favorite hobbies?

Reading and baking. I love baking anything and everything.

~Do you believe in love at first sight?

I do. I just think that people don’t realize it is love because it is so fast, but I believe a part of our souls recognize it.

~Name one of your pet peeves?

People who don’t know how to whisper!!

~If you were a genie, what wish would you absolutely not grant?

Making someone fall in love. It is so much better when it just happens.

~Favorite drink? Alcoholic or not.

My Peace Tea for sure. I drink way too much of that.

What’s the one thing you can’t live without?

My daughter. She is everything to me and I love her to pieces. She makes me so happy.  Also, my glasses/contacts. I am blind as a bat without them.

~If you could date a celebrity who would it be and why?

Gerard Butler. I have been in love with the man for years and I can’t get enough of his sexy accent and the curl of his lips when he talks. OMG! I think I would just give him stuff to talk about all day and sit and stare. Plus, you know, he seems like a cool guy.

Gerard-Butler-Wallpaper-closeup

~What is one thing no one knows about you?

I have the worst stage fright and I am really shy most of the time until I get to know someone.

~Favorite sport/sports team?

Hockey. But we never get a chance to watch it and we don’t watch any other sports.

~Do you have any hidden talents?

I play the piano. Started when I was 6 and taught lessons while I was in college. I also play the guitar but it has been years since I have gotten the chance to do either one.

~Most hated chore?

Dusting. It’s gross and it never goes away and I hate moving things to dust. Haha!

~Pick two celebrities to be your parents.

Will Smith and Jada Smith because they seem like the only ones with their heads still on their shoulders.

~Have you ever been in trouble with the police?

NEVER. I am a good girl 😉

~If you had a superpower, what would it be?

Either flying or moving things with my mind. And I wouldn’t tell ANYONE! I would just freak them out as much as I could.

~If you could only eat one meal for the rest of your life, what would it be?

Arepitas with cheese and Platanos. They are Venezuelan dishes mostly. My mother is from Venezuela and these are the things me, my brothers, and sister would kill for most of the time.

~Do you have any nicknames?

I used to be called Wordo in Jr. High and High school because of my maiden name Worden.

~Do you like or dislike surprises? Why or why not?

I dislike KNOWING there is a surprise coming because then I feel on edge with the need to know. My husband loves, and I mean LOVES, to tell me he has a surprise for me for a gift or something and then torture me by not giving me hints or lying to me about what it might be. I can get very annoying with the questions so I don’t understand why he doesn’t just tell me! Or NOT tell me he has a surprise. If I don’t know about it, I like it.

~What’s your favorite fast food chain?

I don’t really like too much fast food, but Wendy’s is probably the one I would go to the most.

~If you had a warning label what would it say?

May be smiling or laughing for no reason at all, do not be alarmed.

~If you had to describe yourself as an animal, which one would it be?

I just took an animology quiz with a friend and apparently I am a tan giraffe!! And sort of a loner J My soulmate is also apparently a red jaguar.

~What is one thing you will never do again?

Date!!! If I lose my husband in any way, I don’t think I will ever try the dating ever again. What a pain in the ass and there are so many freaky people out there.

~What was your first job?

I was a lifeguard at a community pool and I loved every minute of it. I did it for a while and taught swimming lessons and trained new lifeguards too.

~Who is one person you would like to meet for coffee?

One of my readers who have been with me for a long time. There are several of them and I would love to just sit and talk with them.

~What is the best joke you’ve ever played on someone or had played on you?

Made fake cookies out of homemade Play-Doh (they looked awesome) and watched the person eat a whole one and say that they were really good because they were afraid to hurt my feelings. I almost peed my pants from laughing so hard.

Cookie+Dough+Play+Dough

~What is your favorite TV show?

The Walking Dead. I love zombie shows! I also love Outlander and The Big Bang Theory.

~Do you like to go out or stay home?

A little bit of each. One or the other all the time gets old.

~What is your favorite movie?

Always has been and will forever be Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves and I don’t even own it HAHA! But it is the best!

~What is your preferred method to violently kill someone (in your book, of course)?

Poison… I haven’t done it yet, but a future book will definitely have it.

~Are you a Tom boy or a girly girl?

Tom boy during the day, girly girl at night.

~Do you take the “personality” quizzes, like on Buzzfeed/Facebook?

Nope. That animology one was my first.

~What is your favorite holiday?

Halloween because I love candy and it gives me an excuse to by a five pound bag.

~What is your favorite/ go to cuss word?

Shitballs. It works for almost everything and makes some people laugh.

~Do you have any piercings/tattoos? If so where?

I have a belly button piercing and it is my favorite!!!

~Do you like tattooed bad boys or sweet good guys?

Both! I love READING about both. In real life, I like a mixture of both as long as he isn’t an asshole.

~Favorite quote?

This one from Ricochet by Ernest Hemingway “The world breaks everyone, and afterward, many are strong at the broken places.”

~What is one of your phobias?

I only have 2. Dolls and moths. The doll one is understandable for most people. The moths… don’t ask and walk away if you are with me and see any or you might get hurt.

Ricochet

Ricochet Cover..

“Arianna West, you listen closely. Jack Garrett moved to this town several years ago. He showed up with his wonderful family and made a mark on this town. Of course he did. I mean, the Garretts are the perfect example of perfection. Doctor dad, social butterfly artist for a mom. And Amanda? Well, she’s Amanda. Everyone falls in love with her five seconds after meeting her. But Jack. God, Ari. Jack made a mark that will never go away. He showed up, broody, mysterious, and gorgeous and everyone wanted to find out what made him tick.”

“Why are you telling me this?” I cried, not wanting to know how easy it was for Jack to move on after he left us.

“Just shut up and listen to me. It didn’t take long to realize that Jack didn’t want to be here. That he had left a part of himself behind. He dated and the women flocked to him, believe me, but not one of them turned into anything more than a fling. And you know what? Every single one of them knew exactly why.”

“Why?”

“When he first came to this town, he did nothing but talk about you. Ari, the beautiful sister of his best friend that he had to leave behind. She was too good for the life he could possibly give her after being involved in the shit he was in. She was the very idea of perfection to him and he never even tried to move on.”

“Why?” I asked on a whisper, not even sure I wanted to hear the answer.

“Because he can’t stop loving you. Because that kind of love is impossible to forget. It’s impossible to even put into words, sweetie. These books and movies try so hard and they come close, but never will they truly make the heart understand that kind of devotion, the kind of power that it can wield. Seeing Jack look at you, seeing the way he longs for you, Ari? That’s the kind of love that makes the world keep turning. The kind of bulletproof love that nothing and no one can stop, not even the girl who is shattered to the point where she thinks she could never heal again. Jack doesn’t care how many pieces you are in, my beautiful broken friend. He just wants to make sure he has them all in his hands.”

Buy Links

Amazon: http://bit.ly/RicochetAmz

B&N: http://bit.ly/RicochetBN

IBooks: http://bit.ly/Ricochetibooks

Kobo: http://bit.ly/RicochetKobo

Stalker Links

Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/AuthorJessicaWilde

 AMAZON:

http://www.amazon.com/Jessica-Wilde/e/B00GM4YNWO/

 Twitter:

https://twitter.com/JessicaWilde9

 Goodreads:

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7373464.Jessica_Wilde

 Tsu:

https://www.tsu.co/JessicaWilde

 Smashwords:

http://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/Jessicawildeauthor

Posted on March 23, 2015, in Adult, Author Interview, Romance, Spotlight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thank you so much! Especially the pictures 😉
    You ladies are the best!! ❤ ❤

Leave a Reply

