Author Interview: A.C. Warneke

Author Interview with A.C. Warneke

ACW6

**Before I get started, I want to thank you for inviting me to participate and for the entertaining questions! Thank you!!!

~What are you currently working on?

My current project is the contemporary romance A MILLION KISSES OR MORE. I am also working on STONE SEDUCTION, the second book in the Stone Passions Twins duet (the first book being STONE SOLITUDE).

~Who is your favorite author?

This is a hard one because there are so many authors that I love. The one author that I still buy without reading the blurb is Julia Quinn.

~What writing advice do you have for aspiring authors?

Write. Write. Write. And don’t be afraid of the delete button (or, if you’re like me, copy and paste the cut words to another document. There might be some pieces of gold that will work for another story.)

~Which of your characters is your Book Boyfriend? Why?

This is a really tough question but I think I’m going to have to go with Harrison, the hero of my WIP. As much as I love my other men, Harrison is on my mind twenty-four/seven and will be until I hit the publish button. My top three are Winter (Winter’s Heart) Duncan (Siren Song) and Roman (Stone Solitude)

~Are you an organized author or scattered?

I am organized in my own crazy-messy way (which is to say, I’m scattered.)

~Do you plot out your story or write as it goes?

I usually write as it goes and sometimes my brain will work out the details in advance and sometimes it doesn’t. Winter’s Heart was unique in that it was just there, complete in its entirety and all I had to do was write it down.

~Which one of your characters is your absolute favorite? Why?

My favorite is Lexi Darling from Siren Song. She’s intelligent and creative and a little insecure but she doesn’t let it show and she’s not afraid of going after what she wants.

~Which one is your least favorite? Why?

This is another tough question because I love all of my characters, even the “villains.” Okay, there is one character that is just awful – Matthew Swan from Blight/After Blight. He was a minor character but he was responsible for a lot of death.

~Do you have any strange writing habits?

I play a LOT of minesweeper and solitaire when I’m writing, an obscene amount. I keep a notebook next to my bed for when an idea pops into my head in the middle of the night and I HAVE to write it down or I won’t be able to go back to sleep. The interesting part comes in the morning when I try to interpret what I have written. Occasionally, I can make out a letter but it’s usually enough to determine what was written.

~Do you have writers block and how do you work around it?

When I suffer from writer’s block, I try to give my brain a break and do something else entirely and HOPE that the words will return. Or if I’m in the middle of a story and everything has stopped, it’s usually because I went in the wrong direction somewhere along the way. This sucks because it means I have to go back and change something and I always procrastinate for as long as possible, no matter if it is a major sticking point (which is extremely painful) or a minor sticking point (less painful but no less worthy of procrastinating.)

~Do you work on 1 story at a time or multiples?

Generally, I work on one at a time because I immerse myself into the world I’m writing about. However, I currently have two WIP’s: Stone Seduction which stalled out around 45,000 words and A Million Kisses, which snuck up and demanded to be written during Stone Seduction. Winter’s Heart is another one that swooped in and demanded attention. I had sent Darkness Falls off to the printer to get a proof so I could edit it and while waiting for it to be sent to me, Winter whispered in my ear and possessed me for two weeks. It was insane. Needless to say, Winter was released before Darkness Falls.

~What is your favorite genre to read?

Historical romance. J

~What is the most wacky/crazy weird thing you received from a fan?

My cat once gave me a toy mouse. Does that count?

~What are your favorite hobbies?

Crocheting, quilting, making fairy wings, costuming,

~Do you believe in love at first sight?

Some days, yes.

~Name one of your pet peeves?

Someone talking to me in the morning before I’ve fully come awake. Give me a good thirty, forty minutes before diving into a deep discussion, like “How’s the weather?”

~If you could date a celebrity who would it be and why?

I don’t think I’d like to date a celebrity, especially since it’s usually the character I fall in love with. It would probably be disappointing and overwhelming and confusing all at the same time.

~Favorite sport/sports team?

Dance/ my daughter’s dance team.

~Most hated chore?

All of them.

~Have you ever been in trouble with the police?

Once, after dropping my sister off at school, I was pulled over but it was just my dad. He wanted to say good morning. Still didn’t stop my heart from pounding when I saw those flashing lights making me wonder what the hell I did wrong.

~If you had a superpower, what would it be?

I’d be the sidekick making the superhero look even more awesome. That or flying.

~If you could only eat one meal for the rest of your life, what would it be?

Pizza because you can put anything on pizza (yeah, my answer is cheating).

~Do you like or dislike surprises? Why or why not?

No, not even a little bit. I don’t like not knowing and surprises are all about not knowing.

~What’s your favorite fast food chain?

Subway or Wendy’s because I really like Frosties.

~If you had a warning label what would it say?

Approach slowly and with caution, awkward in a crowd.

~If you had to describe yourself as an animal, which one would it be?

A cat: watchful, solitary, loving to her people, protective, with claws

~What was your first job?

Working at a video rental store.

~Who is one person you would like to meet for coffee?

The Doctor

~What is your favorite TV show?

Doctor Who (the reboot. Love the Eleventh Doctor) and Supernatural

~Do you like to go out or stay home?

Stay at home.

~What is your favorite movie?

It’s really hard to choose only one but I think I’ll go with The Princess Bride. Awesome movie.

~What is your preferred method to violently kill someone (in your book, of course)?

Decapitation (but only the Blight), getting ripped apart or stung by a thousand wasps. There are no bad methods.

~Do you take the “personality” quizzes, like on Buzzfeed/Facebook?

On occasion.

~What is your favorite holiday?

Probably Halloween because I love making costumes for my daughter. Of course, she no longer limits her dress up days to Halloween….

~What is your favorite/ go to cuss word?

Fuck. It is such a versatile word and sometimes the only word that works.

~Do you have any piercings/tattoos? If so where?

Pierced earlobes, pierced cartilage (left ear) and a gargoyle tattoo on my right thigh (done by my talented daughter-in-law)

~Do you like tattooed bad boys or sweet good guys?

Yes, yes I do.

~Favorite quote?

I have two quotes next to my computer, one my kids made me out of Perler beads: “You should be writing.”
The second one is written on a little post it note: “Tolerance becomes a crime when applied to evil.” – Thomas Mann

~What is one of your phobias?

Flying – but it isn’t so much the fear of flying (because I dream I can fly and it’s wonderful) it’s the fear of falling.
From the new, contemporary romance A MILLION KISSES OR MORE:
(The scene where Ana and Harrison first meet)
Stomping across the street, he called out, “What seems to be the problem here?”
Her head shot up and she looked at him with wide, forest green eyes and he swore he felt the planet shift beneath him. As she stood up, he realized she wasn’t wearing anything remotely appropriate for the weather, at least not the weather in northern Minnesota. The vibrant yellow material was silky and sexy but it was what she had on underneath that nearly unmanned him. The short, silky boy shorts showcased her long, long legs and the cropped camisole played peak-a-book with her belly button, which was adorned by a small jewel. His cock sat up and took notice, despite the freezing temperature.
“Thank God you’re home,” she breathed, her words coming out staggered as her teeth clicked together. Glancing down, he saw a pair of bright blue rubber boots on her feet and a smile almost curved his lips. If she wasn’t freezing, he would have asked her what the hell she was thinking going outside in little more than her underwear. Almost as if he asked the question out loud, she answered, “I came outside to get the mail and I locked myself out of the house.”
“It’s Sunday,” he murmured, holding a hand out and catching his breath when she slid her nearly frozen palm into his. “There’s no mail today.”
She looked up at him with those green eyes of her and frowned, even as he pulled her to her feet. While she had legs that went on forever, the top of her head only reached his chin. The leg thing must have been an illusion brought on by the cold and the skimpy clothes she was wearing. He had to concentrate on her words when his mind was wondering about those legs. When he let her go, she wobbled so he quickly put an arm around her waist to hold her steady, appreciating the slender curves. Except she was shaking like a leaf and he had no idea what he was going to do with her. “I could have sworn it was Saturday, otherwise why would I have gone outside to get the mail?”
“Because you’re clearly insane,” he muttered, his eyes widening in his head as he realized he had said that out loud. Instead of being offended, she laughed, a rich, almost husky sound that made his cock twitch.
“Probably,” she agreed, following him when he started across the street to return home. The foolish girl was probably too cold to care about stranger danger.
(The rest is a sweet and steamy story of two people falling in love. I hope to release it late spring/ early summer)
Posted on March 26, 2015, in Author Interview, Romance, Spotlight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Awesome interview! Great questions and even better answers. You crochet? We should talk. LOL!!!

  2. 😀 Crochet allows the mind to wander and work out kinks in story lines.

Leave a Reply

