Author Interview: Elizabeth Sharp

Author Interview with Elizabeth Sharp

noborderlogo

~What are you currently working on?

I’m currently working on a dystopian called Decayed Horizons that I hope to have out by June.

~Who is your favorite author?

There are way too many to pick one. Reading the question four separate ones sprang to mind.

~What writing advice do you have for aspiring authors?

Find your tribe, the people who support you. You don’t have to be in competition with each other.

~Which of your characters is your Book Boyfriend? Why?

Xander Hoffman, from the Forces of Nature… His sense of humor, his devil-may-care attitude and fierce protectiveness just make him irrisistable.

~Are you an organized author or scattered?

I’m pretty scattered, though I’m trying to get more organized.

~Do you plot out your story or write as it goes?

I’m learning to plot. I used to just write, but with a toddler and a busy life I need help staying on target.

~Which one of your characters is your absolute favorite? Why?

That’s like asking a mother to pick a favorite child… But if I had to pick I’d have to say Bethany from Dark Reflections. I related to her more than any other character I’ve ever written.

~Which one is your least favorite? Why?

I like all my characters for one reason or another, but the hardest one to learn to love had to be Chelsea from Dark Reflections.

~Do you have any strange writing habits?

I have to write in format. My WIP is in the proper styles, with the headers and breaks in place. Like the actual images most authors wait for the final draft to add.

~Do you have writers block and how do you work around it?

Of course, everyone does

~Do you work on 1 story at a time or multiples?

Usually I work on one at a time. Currently I’m working on five…

~What is your favorite genre to read?

I like contemporary and thrillers, but my first love will always be paranormal. Howver I can’t read it while writing, since that’s my usual genre and I don’t want to be influenced by anyone too similar to my own work.

~What is the most wacky/crazy weird thing you received from a fan?

Really, just having fans seems weird to me, still.

~If you could go back in time what is one thing you would tell your teenage self?

It really does get better. Hang in there. You aren’t broken beyond repair.

~What are your favorite hobbies?

Aside from reading and writing, I design covers, make jewelry and am a generally crafty person.

~Do you believe in love at first sight?

Yes. Whole heartedly.

~Name one of your pet peeves?

The sound of metal scarping on metal.

~If you were a genie, what wish would you absolutely not grant?

Anything involving free will, because no one should have theirs taken away.

~Favorite drink? Alcoholic or not.

Currently I’m obssessed with Bai, an antioxident juice based drink. I’m also a recovering Dr. Pepper addict.

~What’s the one thing you can’t live without?

My cell phone.

~If you could date a celebrity who would it be and why?

Well, it’s kinda cougarish, but Avan Jogia since he’s the inspiration for Anderson from Dark Reflections. I love that he doesn’t take himself too seriously.

~What is one thing no one knows about you?

I chose the pen name Sharp because my actual name was Dull and I didn’t think I could sell a book that said Dull on the cover.

~Favorite sport/sports team?

Football/Packers

~Do you have any hidden talents?

The ability to hurt myself in the most unbelievable ways.

~Most hated chore?

Laundry

~Pick two celebrities to be your parents.

I thought long and hard about htis, and the pairing would definitely be an odd couple, but I chose Steve Martin and Mayim Balik (Amy Fariah Fowler on Big Bang Theory) because they’re both incredibly smart and funny. Not to mention good looking. I’d definitely be ok with those genes.

~Have you ever been in trouble with the police?

Only for speeding

~If you had a superpower, what would it be?

I want to be able to teleport around the world. Would make all the traveling I want to do so much easier.

~If you could only eat one meal for the rest of your life, what would it be?

Fried chicken, mashed potatoes and broccoli.

~Do you have any nicknames?

A ton: Deej, Dee, Double D (my real name, nothing to do with size), E, Sharpie, Lizzie, Dingbat, Slick… I could go on…

~Do you like or dislike surprises? Why or why not?

I like them, as long as they’re good surprises.

~What’s your favorite fast food chain?

Probably Chik-fil-A

~If you had a warning label what would it say?

Contains no volume control

~If you had to describe yourself as an animal, which one would it be?

Probably a raccoon

~What is one thing you will never do again?

Stabbing myself in the wrist with an African porcupine quill definitely tops that list

~What was your first job?

Special events security in San Diego. I worked things like Charger football games, NCAA basketball finals, the Superbowl, World Cup Soccor, Rolling Stones Concert… And yes, I have met some celebrities.

~Who is one person you would like to meet for coffee?

Rachel Vincent. Her books inspired me to take my writing seriously and led to me finally getting published.

~What is the best joke you’ve ever played on someone or had played on you?

In high shcool I was part of a group that took the principal’s car about and reassembled it on the roof.

~What is your favorite TV show?

Grimm or Forever. Hard to pick one over the other.

~Do you like to go out or stay home?

Stay home. Especielly in the winter it’s hard to get me out of the house.

~What is your favorite movie?

While You Were Sleeping

~What is your preferred method to violently kill someone (in your book, of course)?

I don’t know that I have a orefered method. I think i’ve used just about everything at some point. I do like to do it suddenly and unexpected, though….

~Are you a Tom boy or a girly girl?

A weird mix of both

~Do you take the “personality” quizzes, like on Buzzfeed/Facebook?

Totally addicted to them and most my friends are enablers that keep telling me about them

~What is your favorite holiday?

Halloween because it’s the one day a year I can be anything I want.

~What is your favorite/ go to cuss word?

Now that I have a toddler, I’m trying not to, but bitch is still my fave….

~Do you have any piercings/tattoos? If so where?

Two piercings in each ear, cartilage of the left ear, and four tattoos–One on the back of each shoulder, one on the back of my neck and one on the inside of my left wrist.

~Do you like tattooed bad boys or sweet good guys?

Yes. I’m sorry, you want me to pick? I refuse.

~Favorite quote?

“Invention is 1% inspiration and 99% perspiration.”

-Thomas Edison

“My mother always said beauty is a choice, not a gift.”

-Elizabeth Sharp (Hidden Depths, Dark Reflections Book Two)

~What is one of your phobias?

I am horrible with heights. Even climbing up to stand on a chair freaks me out.

Excerpt from Decayed Horizon — Coming in May

**This is unedited.**

I wasn’t sure where I was, or how I had gotten here, but one thing was certain—all was not well in New York City. I wasn’t sure where the other people had gone, or why there weren’t rescue crews everywhere. Picking myself up off the floor, I began to make my way carefully along what I was coming to fear were the remains of the Penn Station platform, hoping enough of the stairs remained for me to get back to the surface. Had there been another terrorist attack?

The darkness wasn’t absolute, and I found as I traced the path I’d taken into the tunnel that it lessened, but my heart dropped when I realized it was because a large section of the ceiling had caved in, exposing me to the afternoon light. I probably would have been stuck there until I starved to death if not for the vines growing among the crumbled concrete. My slouchy leather boots had super grippy soles, and while I had no real meat on my bones I was stronger than I looked. After fifteen minutes struggling over broken concrete, pulling myself up along a strange vine I’d never seen before, I collapsed into the empty street panting. I wasn’t worried about cars because I was certain the police would have cordoned off the area. So I laid there with my eyes screwed shut waiting for the oxygen my body so desperately yearned for.

Buy Links

ebook Now FREE!!
paperback    Kindle    Nook    iReader    Kobo     Sony    Smashwords
Second Nature 
paperback    Kindle    Nook    iReader    Kobo    Sony    Smashwords
Better Nature
paperback    Kindle    Nook    iReader    Kobo    Sony    Smashwords
Supernova
paperback    Kindle    Nook    iReader    Kobo    Sony    Smashwords

Stalker Links

Posted on March 27, 2015, in Author Interview, Romance, Spotlight and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

