Author Interview: Emily Ford

Author Interview with Emily Ford

EF1
~What are you currently working on?

I’m finishing up “The Sober Companion,” which is my first paranormal romance/thriller!

~Who is your favorite author?

My sister, Lizzy Ford.

~What writing advice do you have for aspiring authors?

Keep at it! You will improve with practice just like anything else. Don’t be afraid to research things you’re not certain of, such as character arcs or writing structure, to actively improve your writing.

~Which of your characters is your Book Boyfriend? Why?

Probably Michael in “The Black Jester,” because he is sensitive to women and wants to protect them. In the story, he does anything he has to in order to protect Rose, whom he comes to love. And he wreaks serious havoc in protecting her!

~Are you an organized author or scattered?

I’m fairly organized!

~Do you plot out your story or write as it goes?

Most of the time, my stories write themselves but there are times when I need to step back and make sure things are coming together, and if not I’ll make changes or add things in.

~Which one of your characters is your absolute favorite? Why?

I love Johnny Justice (also known as “The Blue Jester”) in my Kings of New Orleans series, because he is such a good guy and wants to do the right thing. He cares about his friends and wants to protect the good people of New Orleans. He’s just an outstanding character!

~Which one is your least favorite? Why?

I love all my main characters, if I didn’t I wouldn’t write them into existence. I do have some criminal scumbags in my Kings of New Orleans series, but don’t worry, I take care of them properly!

~Do you have any strange writing habits?

I can write a novella (35k words) in a week, and during that week I do nothing but write, eat, sleep, write, eat, sleep! It’s a really concentrated block of time but it seems to be conducive to my ability to be creative.

~Do you work on 1 story at a time or multiples?

I like to work on one story at a time.

~What is your favorite genre to read?

Actually I read a lot of non-fiction!

~What are your favorite hobbies?

I love running and strength training, playing with dogs, and watching movies

~Do you believe in love at first sight?

I believe in “I think you’re cute” at first sight, but love? No, unless it’s just that I’ve never experienced it!

~If you were a genie, what wish would you absolutely not grant?

I wouldn’t grant anyone’s wish to hurt themselves or anyone else!

~Favorite drink? Alcoholic or not.

Sweet iced tea!

~If you could date a celebrity who would it be and why?

Benedict Cumberbatch! He is just an amazing human being and oh, my, that voice…!

~What is one thing no one knows about you?

That I secretly want to be an actor in a play!

~Favorite sport/sports team?

I’m not a sports fan

~Do you have any hidden talents?

I hope so!

~Most hated chore?

Laundry!

~Pick two celebrities to be your parents.

Liam Neeson, because he’ll kill anyone that tries to hurt his daughter, and Oprah because she’s a strong, independent woman!

~Have you ever been in trouble with the police?

Nope!

~If you had a superpower, what would it be?

To fly!

~If you could only eat one meal for the rest of your life, what would it be?

Cajun Jambalaya from The Cheesecake Factory

~Do you have any nicknames?

My sister has called me Chippy and Tako

~What’s your favorite fast food chain?

Wendy’s, their burgers are the best!

~What is one thing you will never do again?

Marry the wrong person!

~What was your first job?

I worked the drive-thru at Long John Silver’s!

~Who is one person you would like to meet for coffee?

My soul mate – whoever he is!

~What is your favorite TV show?

Of all time, it has to be The Simpsons

~What is your preferred method to violently kill someone (in your book, of course)?

With a knife so they can FEEL it! Hahaha!

~What is your favorite/ go to cuss word?

Frell!

~Do you have any piercings/tattoos? If so where?

Nope!

 

My upcoming new release (March 2015) is a Paranormal Romance Thriller called “The Sober Companion.” Here is the synopsis:

For Vampire-Americans to win legal independence, they must successfully complete 6 months of live blood rehab followed by 6 months of 24/7 observation by a sober companion.

Elias Alexander, a legendary thousand year-old vampire with celebrity status, decides to give up his illegal vampire lifestyle in order to fit in to American society. After spending his entire life waiting for his true love, Elizabeth, to continually reincarnate due to a witch’s curse, only to keep dying in her 25th year of life, Eli is losing hope that he will ever be able to hold on to her permanently.

Eric Wayne hates vampires but is court ordered to work as a sober companion to avoid prison time for his violent act against one. Hiding his own self-destructive addiction, he is assigned to the celebrity vampire who proves to be difficult to hate as they develop a deep bond that transcends the boundaries of friendship.

Eli determines Eric is the modern day reincarnation of Elizabeth and he is faced with the most difficult decision of his life. He must choose between saving a mortally wounded Eric by turning him into a vampire, or letting him die in hopes Elizabeth will reincarnate again in her original form.

The definition of love is put to the ultimate test as Eli and Eric struggle to navigate a hostile world of discrimination and danger while depending on each other to survive.

 

Stalker Links

Website: www.emilyfordworld.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/emilyfordworld

Twitter: www.twitter.com/EmilyFordWorld

Amazon Author Page: www.amazon.com/Emily-Ford/e/B009MA3UM4

Posted on March 28, 2015, in Author Interview, paranormal, Romance, Spotlight and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

