Author Interview: Cynthia P O’Neill

Author Interview with Cynthia P. O’Neill

cindy head shot1~What are you currently working on?

I’m currently working on the second book of the new Contemporary/Erotic Romance Series, Need – entitled “I Need You Now – Need #2”.  I’ll be releasing “I Need You Always – Need #1” on March 17th.

I also have a spin-off coming from A Learning Series, entitled “Learning to Move Forward – Book 3.5” that releases March 24th.

~Who is your favorite author?

I have quite a few favorites.  But, the two that inspired me to start writing were Stephenie Meyer and E.L. James.

~What writing advice do you have for aspiring authors?

Be true to yourself.  You’ll have naysayers and those that just don’t like your work.  Sad, but true.  You can’t please everyone all the time.  Just remember that.  Take only constructive criticism, because it will help you tighten your writing skills and become better.  And above all…stay true to yourself and what message you want to convey.

~Which of your characters is your Book Boyfriend? Why?

That’s a hard one!  I like Gregory from the Remembrance Series, because my husband inspired him.  He’s definitely swoon worthy and the ideal boyfriend.  But, I tend to lean towards the more risqué dominant males I’ve written, because they were a challenge that I wasn’t sure I could pull off.  I have Garrett, who’s the alpha male in A Learning Series Books 1-3, his brother Jonathan in Learning to Move Forward – Book 3.5, and now Dane and Nate in the first two books of Need.  I guess my favorite is still Garrett.  He’s a bit obsessive and controlling, with a dark past, but when he loves, he does so with his whole heart.

~Are you an organized author or scattered?

I’m a bit of both.

~Do you plot out your story or write as it goes?

I start out with a general outline, but let the characters develop in the book, sometimes their stories shift and become more complex.  I stick to some aspects of the plot, but the characters have control over how the story continues.

~Which one of your characters is your absolute favorite? Why?

It is too hard to pick one, so I’ll say all.  I have my reasons.

~Which one is your least favorite? Why?

Walt Peterson in A Learning Series.  He’s one sick twisted soul.

~Do you have any strange writing habits?

I can write under most any condition.  But, I prefer the sound of white noise with the door shut in my bedroom, while either on my desktop or laptop.

~Do you have writers block and how do you work around it?

I get it from time to time, but not as bad anymore.  While some don’t want to read anything while they’re writing, I’m just the opposite.  I’m a very avid reader in the same genre I’m writing in.  It helps focus my mind on the style of writing and my story.

~Do you work on 1 story at a time or multiples?

I’ve done multiples in two very different romance genres and it was okay.  But, I’d rather have my mind focused on one style of writing at a time.

~What is your favorite genre to read?

Anything romance from tame to steamy, and everything in between.

~If you could go back in time what is one thing you would tell your teenage self?

Follow your dreams and stay true to yourself.

~What are your favorite hobbies?

Spending time with my family, reading, writing, cooking, baking, playing the piano, flower arranging, cross stitch needle point, bowling, mini-golf, swimming, biking, watching TV and movies.

~Do you believe in love at first sight?

Yes…it happened with my husband and me.

~Name one of your pet peeves?

I don’t like lying or those who continually put down others for their own enjoyment.

~Favorite drink? Alcoholic or not.

My favorite go to drinks as a writer are Water, Coffee, and Coke Zero.  I can’t drink much alcohol, but when I do have a drink it’s something light and fruity like a Malibu Bay Breeze.

~What is one thing no one knows about you?

My mind rarely shuts down.  I’m always running story lines, thinking of the list of things I have to do, and so on…

~Do you have any hidden talents?

My husband states my cooking and baking, he especially loves my chocolate covered strawberries.  I like to tweak a recipe and make it healthier, taking out some of the sodium, adding fiber, and flavor to things.

~Most hated chore?

Dusting – allergies!

~If you had a superpower, what would it be?

Mind reading

~If you could only eat one meal for the rest of your life, what would it be?

Asian Salad with steamed Salmon

~Do you have any nicknames?

Cindy

~Do you like or dislike surprises? Why or why not?

Dislike.  No reason, usually no one is able to pull off one around me.

~What’s your favorite fast food chain?

A toss up between Panera and Chick Fil-A

~If you had to describe yourself as an animal, which one would it be?

A tiger.  Cute and fuzzy, but mess with my family and hear me growl.

~Who is one person you would like to meet for coffee?

Stephenie Meyer or Sylvia Day

~What is your favorite TV show?

It varies.  Sometimes I’m in the mood for comedy and love Last Man Standing, Mike and Molly, and Rules of Engagement.  If I’m in the mood for action, I like Marvel’s Agent Carter, Psych, Castle, and Numbers.

~Do you like to go out or stay home?

I like both, pending my mood, but normally I’m a home body.

~What is your favorite movie?

Moonstruck, Star Wars Anything, Star Trek Anything, Twilight Saga

~What is your preferred method to violently kill someone (in your book, of course)?

Water Torture/Drowning in a flashback to yesteryear in Remembrance.  However, my preferred method, in a future stand alone, is odorless, tasteless poison.

~Are you a Tom boy or a girly girl?

I grew up a major Tom boy, then went through a stage of being a girly girl.  Now, I’m both.

~Do you take the “personality” quizzes, like on Buzzfeed/Facebook?

Yes, when time allows.

~What is your favorite holiday?

Christmas.  I love the lights, surprising my family with gifts, and baking so I can share with others.

~What is your favorite/ go to cuss word?

Since I have a little man in my life, I try not to cuss.  But, in my books…well it’s kind of obvious.

~Do you have any piercings/tattoos? If so where?

I have double piercings in my ears, considering a third up high in one ear.  No tattoos, currently.

~Do you like tattooed bad boys or sweet good guys?

In books, the tattooed bad boys.  In real life I’m married to a sweet good guy.

~Favorite quote?

From Yoda in the Empire Strikes Back, “There’s only do or do not, there is not try.”

~What is one of your phobias?

Anything creepy, crawly, and slithery.

marissa sub teaser

Pre-Order

Amazon

I Need You Always Final Full Cover

Stalker Links

www.facebook.com/authorcynthiaponeill

 www.twitter.com/cynthiaponeill    or @cynthiaponeill

 https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7085956.Cynthia_P_O_Neill

 http://www.amazon.com/Cynthia-P.-ONeill/e/B00DSA6OSQ/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

 www.cynthiaponeill.com

Posted on April 1, 2015, in Author Interview, Romance, Spotlight and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

