Author Interview: Melissa Pearl

Author Interview with Melissa Pearl

Mel 1 brushed med

 

~What are you currently working on?

I always a few projects on the go at the same time. Everything is staggered…so at the moment, my March release (Forbidden Territory – a YA Romantic Suspense) is in the final proofing stages, my April release (Everything – a NA Contemporary Romance) is with my copy-editor and I’m in the planning stages of a brand new series, tentatively entitled No Fear (an upper YA Romance/Spy-Action). I write in a variety of genres so that my readers don’t get bored and I can keep my work fresh.

~Who is your favorite author?

That question is WAY to hard to answer. LOL 😀 I have a few. The first two that popped into mind were Cambria Hebert and Anna Cruise.

~What writing advice do you have for aspiring authors?

Learn the craft of writing. There is SO much that goes into constructing a GOOD story. Take the time to learn the ins and outs of how to write a good book. It’s so worth it.

As far as story structure goes, I would highly recommend checking out STORY by Robert McKee and A Writer’s Journey by Christopher Vogler.

~Are you an organized author or scattered?

I am stupidly organized, but very proud to fly my geek flag. My writing schedule until Dec 2015 is already mapped out, I have calendars and timelines on my walls, plus a daily diary that I write copious lists in. I love crossing things off, I think that’s why I do it 🙂

Haha. No seriously, if it’s not in the diary, it WILL NOT HAPPEN 😛

~Do you plot out your story or write as it goes?

I prefer to plot and plan really thoroughly. The story does shift and move within that plan, sometimes things pop up that you just have to go with, but generally speaking I know 90% of the scenes before I even start writing the first chapter. I am very thorough, because that’s what works for me and I find that I can solve a lot of my plot structure issues during the plan stages and I’m not wasting time writing scenes that I’ll never use 🙂

~What is your favorite genre to read?

I LOVE romantic suspense, I think that’s my top genre, but I also love contemporary romance and historical romance. I also have a thing for military romances…love me some Navy SEAL action 😀 I tend to lean towards YA and NA as well. Love reading about characters in high school and college.

~Name one of your pet peeves?

Oh my gosh – when people park really badly in a parking lot. Like when they take up two spaces instead of one! Little things like that rile me – any kind of really inconsiderate behavior irks me big time 😀

~If you could date a celebrity who would it be and why?

Paul Walker was always the guy I crushed on big time. I was so sad when he passed away 😦

I think the thing I like about him (aside from his gorgeousness) was the fact he seemed like a really humble, nice, genuine kind of guy…a good soul.

But if I had to go on a date with a celebrity, I’d probably pick someone who could make me laugh like Jimmy Fallon or Justin Long, because then I know I’d be in for an entertaining evening 🙂

~If you could only eat one meal for the rest of your life, what would it be?

Hamburgers probably. I love those things 😀 Unfortunately for me, I’ve been diagnosed with celiacs disease so I am no longer allowed to eat wheat, which means burger buns are off the menu. I still each the middle part though 😀 Haha.

~Do you like to go out or stay home?

I’m such a stay at home girl. If it wasn’t for my husband and kids, I’d be a hermit. LOL 😀 No – I’m not quite that bad, but I’m definitely a home-body.

~Are you a Tom boy or a girly girl?

Way more Tom boy than girly girl. If I didn’t suck so badly at sport, I could probably be classed as a total tomboy, but unfortunately, I’m super unco. Thankfully I get to live out my fantasy of being a kick-ass sporty chick in my stories 😀 LOL 😀

I do wear make-up and heels when I have to and if I’m honest, I love the dressing up part, but within about twenty minutes of dolling-up I’m wondering when I can take the muck off my face and put my jeans back on 😀

~Do you have any piercings/tattoos? If so where?

I have two tattoos. One on my ankle – a silver fern leaf – it’s a symbol from my country – New Zealand. I also have a tattoo on the back of my neck. It’s a cross with the words beneath – It’s All About Love

~Favorite quote?

I have SO many, but one that pops to mind is: “Faith is taking the first step even when you can’t see the full staircase.” – Martin Luther King

PF Teaser #3

 

Stalker Links

Website: http://www.melissapearlauthor.com

Facebook Author Page: http://www.facebook.com/melissapearlauthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/MelissaPearlG

YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/melissapearlauthor

Amazon Author Page:  amazon.com/author/melissapearl

Goodreads Author Page: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5314516.Melissa_Pearl

Smashwords Author Page: https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/melissapearl

Newsletter subscription: http://eepurl.com/p3g8v

Google+: google.com/+MelissaPearlAuthor

Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/melissapearlg/

EmailSig

 

Posted on April 5, 2015, in Author Interview, Romance, Spotlight, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thanks so much for the opportunity to answer such great questions 😀

Leave a Reply

