Author Interview: Madison Daniel

Author Interview with Madison Daniel

MadDan15.1 copy

~What are you currently working on?

Two books, Lucas Ryan Versus: THE RETURN (my ongoing fantasy, sci-fi series.), and Nightingales (my newest vampire series.)

~Who is your favorite author?

Stephen King.

~What writing advice do you have for aspiring authors?

Trust your words. Don’t worry about anything else and just write. Get your story out and worry about anything/everything else later.

~Are you an organized author or scattered?

Both. It’s a controlled chaos when I write.

~Do you plot out your story or write as it goes?

A little of both. I always plot everything out on a notebook with pen. Then I piece it together as I go. Usually new twists and turns reveal themselves as I write, so there is a bunch of unplanned adventures that make it into my stories. Sometimes, the best moments in a manuscript come from that.

~Which one of your characters is your absolute favorite? Why?

Though I absolutely love my main characters, (Max from the Ember Series & Lucas from the Lucas Ryan Series), my all time favorite character I’ve written hasn’t been shown to the world yet. I hope to reveal this character this year. I can’t say who it is yet but I can say that it’s a SHE, and SHE is extremely bad @ss!!!

~Which one is your least favorite? Why?

No such thing. Even the most despicable and evil characters are a blast to write. Actually, sometimes the best ones to sink your creativeness into. Side characters, or filler characters are probably the closest thing to a least favorite character for me. But if I do my job right as an author, even those characters will have some bit of value to me.

~Do you have any strange writing habits?

I can be a bit of a stress beast, and I tend to bite my nails more than I should. Bad habit, I know. That, and I dance during the writing process!

~Do you have writers block and how do you work around it?

I’ve never had an OFFICIAL block. There are just too many stories in my head to ever be locked up. BUT, I do experience “Writers Flood” every so often. That’s when you have TOO MUCH to write and you become overwhelmed with the process. Either way, they both can effect the writing productivity.

~Do you work on 1 story at a time or multiples?

Usually just the one story, BUT right now, I’m writing two different manuscripts. It’s amazing to have so much creative juices flowing at one time but it really slows the process for each manuscript. I’m two months behind on one of the books because of it.

~If you could go back in time what is one thing you would tell your teenage self?

Exercise. Exercise your body so when you get older its already a habit. Exercise your mind too. Read, write, read some more, and trust the words in your head.

~What are your favorite hobbies?

Besides writing: Writing, playing, and singing music. I draw and paint too. Also, I’m a lifelong gamer.

~Name one of your pet peeves?

#1 pet peeve is IGNORANCE. It breeds hate, fear, and weakness.

~Favorite drink? Alcoholic or not.

I’m addicted to Coca Cola, but if I had to choose just one it would be a fresh bottle/glass of crystal clean water with a twist of lime (and sometimes lemon.)

~What is one thing no one knows about you?

I am a recovering breakdancer. Shhh…

~Do you have any hidden talents?

I’m a borderline genius when it comes to useless trivia.

~Pick two celebrities to be your parents.

George Lucas and Steven Spielberg. Imagine the awsomeness of take-your-child-to-work-day!!!

~If you had a superpower, what would it be?

I love the idea of a “healing ability,” like Wolverine from the X-Men. Never being sick or worrying about injury sounds pretty sweet. Also, it slows down the aging process. I’ve always wanted the ability to time travel too.

~If you could only eat one meal for the rest of your life, what would it be?

Probably Chinese noodles.

~Do you have any nicknames?

Mads, Mad Dan, Rockstar, M.

~If you had a warning label what would it say?

CAUTION: I’M A HUGGER!!!

~What is one thing you will never do again?

Drink alcohol. I swore off that stuff years ago. I don’t miss it at all.

~What was your first job?

Pizza maker at Little Caesars Pizza.

~Who is one person you would like to meet for coffee?

Hmmm…living? Or dead? I’ll answer it both ways. Living: Andrew Lincoln (actor who plays Rick Grimes on the Walking Dead television show.) Dead: John Lennon or Jim Henson.

~What is your favorite TV show?

Dexter, Chuck, Alias, Walking Dead, and Invader Zim.

~What is your favorite movie?

Three way tie! The Crow, Aliens, and The Shawshank Redemption.

~What is your preferred method to violently kill someone (in your book, of course)?

So far, it’s fire. Infernos, flames, explosions, dragons breath, etc…

~What is your favorite/ go to cuss word?

Sadly, all of them.

~Favorite quote?

“Forgiveness is divine, but never pay full price for a late pizza.”

~What is one of your phobias?

Heights. Deep water. Bugs. Ugh, shall I go on?

Stalker Links

Posted on April 7, 2015, in Author Interview, Spotlight, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

