Author Interview: Emily Goodwin

Author Interview with Emily Goodwin

1635425

 

~What are you currently working on?

I’m writing Beyond the Sea, a NA paranormal romance about mermaids. I’m loving this book, and it’s exciting to put something “new”. There are very few adult books with mermaids as the main character.

~What writing advice do you have for aspiring authors?

Keep writing. The hardest part of the whole process can be just finishing that manuscript. Remember you can edit and revise later, so don’t get hung up on a certain part. Keep moving, and when it comes together in the end, you will be so proud of yourself for accomplishing something as complex as writing a novel.

~Which of your characters is your Book Boyfriend? Why?

I have a hard time choosing between Hayden (from the Contagium series) and Ethan (from the Guardian Legacy series). They are both similar in a few ways, and I’m a sucker for a loyal, protective, caring, and badass hottie. Ethan is a demon hunter and Hayden is a former Marine turned zombie slayer. I’d take either if I can’t have them both 😉

~Are you an organized author or scattered?

Very scattered author. I think organized authors are mythical creatures that don’t really exist.

~Do you plot out your story or write as it goes?

I start out with a very basic plot outline done, meaning I know the general direction of the story and certain main events that will happen, but things just kind of go from there. I’ve never stuck with a detailed outline before. The characters and plots change organically for me.

~Do you have any strange writing habits?

I don’t know if this is strange, but I like to recreate my characters’ houses in The Sims. Seeing the vision in my head (sort of) come to life is inspiring.

~What are your favorite hobbies?

Riding my horse (we aren’t into competitive showing anymore), playing The Sims, and making costumes. I love Cosplay and creating my own original characters/costumes. I’m working on The Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse costumes now, and yes, I’m making armor for my horse.

~If you could date a celebrity who would it be and why?

Kit Harington. Because Jon Sno.

~Have you ever been in trouble with the police?

I got caught trespassing when I was a teen before. We were in an old barn ghost hunting. With the help of my sister’s fake tears and a made up story about looking for a lost dog, we got out with just a warning. My criminal record is pretty clean.

~Who is one person you would like to meet for coffee?

Jennifer Lawrence. I’m convinced we’re meant to be BFFs.

~What is your favorite TV show?

Supernatural. Yay for another seaon!

~Do you like to go out or stay home?

Stay home. I like wearing my jammies and being home with the kid and the dog.

~What is your favorite movie?

Practical Magic. I can watch it over and over and never get bored.

~Do you take the “personality” quizzes, like on Buzzfeed/Facebook?

All the time! I just took one to see what Disney Mom I am. I got some cat from the Aristocats LOL

~What is your favorite holiday?

Halloween. Creepy is right up my alley!

~What is one of your phobias?

I am terrified of moths. I think they are disgusting and will freak out if they are near me. Spiders are gross, but I can handle. But moths…*shudders*. Anora (from the Guardian books) is also terrified of moths.

Body scape of woman neck and hand with emotion

 

Stalker Links

www.emilygoodwinbooks.com

www.facebook.com/emilygoodwinbooks

http://www.amazon.com/EmilyGoodwin/e/B006075SSG/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_pop_1

Instagram: authoremilygoodwin

 

Posted on April 8, 2015, in Author Interview, Romance, Spotlight, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

