Author Interview: Misty Provencher

Author Interview with Misty Provencher

L Photo Op

 

 

~What are you currently working on?

I’m working on finishing The Dimension Thieves Series.  It’s a monthly, episodic, fantasy series that began January 2015 and will end December 2015.  I release them on the last day of each month, so I hope it will give readers something to look forward to each month.

~Are you an organized author or scattered?

You’ve been peeking in my closets, haven’t you?  Well, I’m a little bit of both.  I’ve got notes in my purse and written on wrappers, in my computer, in notebooks, in Moleskins…but, I’ve got my stories plotted.  We can just say, I know where everything is in my avalanche.

~Do you plot out your story or write as it goes?

I used to pants it, only knowing the ending, but it produced a story with too much blubber for my liking.  I’ve taken up plotting and have found my groove.  And the up side is that I get to use all my mahhhhhvelous office supplies…it’s my addiction.  :O

~Which one of your characters is your absolute favorite? Why?

I love them all- I mean, this is like asking me to throw one of my kids under another’s scooter tires, but…I do have a favorite, I think.  Addo, from The Cornerstone Series is probably my favorite.  He’s this wise man who is also such a cheeky weirdo.  He wears his sweat pants pulled up to his knees, along with leather sandals and knee socks.  But he’s also always covered in cookie crumbs, so that’s a bit of redemption, isn’t it?

~Do you have writers block and how do you work around it?

I don’t anymore, because I can’t see the point.  Haha!  I think of writing like this:  If I don’t show up for work, I get fired, and I love my job, so I figure it out.  However, I would say I take ‘refresh’ days as needed- but never because I’m stuck.  Only because I need to process.  Does that make any sense at all?  (I know all the writers out there are laughing and nodding)

~Do you work on 1 story at a time or multiples?

I’ve tried working on multiples, but it’s never worked out well.  The voice suffers.  However, I CAN plot another story as I write one, but generally, at some point- I put aside one story and go full-hog on the one that captures me most.

~What is the most wacky/crazy weird thing you received from a fan?

Hmmm, I’ve received some incredible stuff.  Let me think…oh yes.  It was a mistake I received from a fan turned friend.  She meant to send me some gluten-free baking ingredients to try out, along with a shot glass she’d gotten during her travels.  What showed up at my house was an enormous box, ripped up and re-taped, with a shot glass and a bunch of scrap packing in the bottom.  Nothing else.  I mean an enormous box…and all there was in it was this itty bitty shot glass.  I was at a loss.  Turns out, the post office removed her ingredients- likely thinking that gluten-free flour was actually crack- and sent me the remaining non-edible contents.

~If you could go back in time what is one thing you would tell your teenage self?

Good Lord, child, GET OUT OF YOUR OWN WAY.

~Do you believe in love at first sight?

Definitely.  Well, lust at first sight for sure, but then, that’s getting your foot in the door, isn’t it?  I believe that any two people on earth can fall in love, if they both desire to do it with open hearts and minds.  I really missed my calling as a fairy godmother.

~If you were a genie, what wish would you absolutely not grant?

None of them.  Most wishes have a reason for why you don’t have them.  You don’t want what you’re not supposed to have- that leads to chaos, for goodness sake.

~Do you have any hidden talents?

Absolutely none.  I pretty much live my life on my right sleeve.  You guys know all my tricks.

~Most hated chore?

Dragging home groceries.  I don’t mind buying them.  I don’t loathe putting them away, but that middle part…I need to hire a Sven that can tote my groceries to my car and then from car to kitchen for me.

~If you had a superpower, what would it be?

Understanding.  I’d * poof * make everyone understand one another so there wouldn’t be any more disagreements and silliness.  Everyone would understand everyone else’s motives and reasons.  Heaven.

~If you could only eat one meal for the rest of your life, what would it be?

It used to be peanut butter.  For years, a day didn’t go by that I didn’t eat it for, at least, breakfast, and sometimes, lunch.

~Do you have any nicknames?

About that.  I don’t have nicknames, because…hello.  With my name, no one feels the need to go any further…but I LOVE to nickname people I enjoy.  If you’re friends with me, sooner or later, you get named something giggly.

~Do you like or dislike surprises? Why or why not?

I’m not a fan of anything that jumps out at me or scares me, and when it comes to surprise gifts…they’re nice, but what I really love is anticipation.  My father recently built me a walking desk that attaches to my treadmill…I LOVE IT…but it took him about a month to design it and build it.  Looking forward to things is my JAM.

~If you had a warning label what would it say?

Interact while smiling.

~Who is one person you would like to meet for coffee?

I’m limited to only one?  Can we put some extensions in the table and pull up a few extra chairs?  I’d like to meet so many…can Monkey Paw a few writers for this?

~Do you like to go out or stay home?

I’m a hobbit.  Unless I’m going out to meet friends, then LOOK OUT

~Are you a Tom boy or a girly girl?

Can we say hybrid?  I’m made of grit and steel, but I likes to play with the make-ups very much.

~What is your favorite holiday?

CHRISTMAS!!!  Two months of anticipation!!  SEE QUESTION #16.

~What is your favorite/ go to cuss word?

I named a character after it.  In The Fly House, one of the Plutian overseers is a chowder-head named Phuck.

~Do you have any piercings/tattoos? If so where?

Yah.  I’ve got a pierced nose.  No tats, unless we count the graphite in my leg, where I once rolled over on a pencil in bed.

The Dimension Thieves Epi 1-12 Cover

 

Links for The Dimension Thieves (first episode):

Amazon: http://amzn.to/1zpoCQU
Ibooks: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/id961456694
Barnes & Noble: http://bit.ly/1GA9i9O
Kobo: https://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/the-dimension-thieves

EXCERPT:

before Force could claim his seat, he laid eyes on the young woman seated on the other side of his empty chair.  Her eyes were dark saucers with prisms of light that seemed to reflect Force in them.  She raised her fingertips to her neck and touched the base lightly.  It was such a simple, meaningless gesture, but the pale ovals of her nails and the grace in her touch ignited him.  His instant desire to replace her fingertips with a soft kiss startled him.

The mere sight of her made him regret his tardiness.  She did not look away either, but held his gaze.  Not once inch of her showed concern.  Intriguing.  Instead, the fragile bow of her mouth remained unwrapped only slightly in the center, as if she exhaled or gasped at the sight of him.  It pleased him to think that he could incite her to do either.

He deeply regretted being late once again.

Force acknowledged her with a dip of his chin and was immediately unhappy he’d done it.  She returned a dismissive nod, looking away as he took the seat beside her.

She reached out and took up her water glass with her right hand.  He shook out his napkin with his left, so that he tapped her with his elbow before delivering the napkin across his lap.  It worked incredibly well.  She turned back to him, and he, in turn, twisted his head to his mother, who was smiling slyly at him.  She motioned for his ear and he bent to hear what his mother wanted to tell him.

“She’s a beauty, isn’t she?” his mother murmured.

He straightened in his chair with a smirk.

“Quite,” he whispered back.  His mother returned the smirk.

Final-Logo-MistyP_SFW_OnBlack

Books by Misty Provencher
The CORNERSTONE Series  (Young Adult)
HALE MAREE  (Adult, Contemporary Romance)
FULL OF GRACE (Adult, companion book to Hale Maree)
MERCY, A GARGOYLE STORY  (New Adult, Dark Urban Fantasy)
Available in paperback and ebook at:
Posted on April 10, 2015, in Author Interview, Romance, Spotlight, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

