Author Interview: Susan Griscom

Author Interview with Susan Griscom

Susan Griscom~What are you currently working on?

A Gypsy’s Kiss, A Sectorium Novel, book 1. This series is a spin off from my Whisper Cape Trilgoy. The first book is set six years in the future and is Breena’s story. Each book will be a stand-alone and feature the eight kids from the trilogy as grown-ups with their own stories.

~Who is your favorite author?

Nora Roberts and right now, Colleen Hoover

~Which of your characters is your Book Boyfriend? Why?

It’s hard to pick just one. But Cael was my first so I would have to say him since I’ve written about him the most. He is my idea of the perfect male.

~Are you an organized author or scattered?

Oh gosh. I am very scattered. I usually don’t have an outline and write what comes into my head when I’m sitting in front of the screen. I do try to jot down a few things about where I’d like the story to go, but sometimes the characters just don’t want to go there and so we end up doing something else.

~Which one of your characters is your absolute favorite? Why?

Courtland from Allusive Aftershock and Brodie from Beautifully Used are my favorites. They were easy to write. I felt all their pain. Courtland goes through some awful stuff during all those earthquakes.

~Do you work on 1 story at a time or multiples?

Usually just one story at a time. If I think of one that I want to write at a later time, I’ll jot some things down about it. But in order for me to stay focused on the characters and their needs, I need to stick with them until they are finished.

~What is your favorite genre to read?

Contemporary and paranormal romance. That’s what I write too.

~If you could go back in time what is one thing you would tell your teenage self?

Not to be in such a hurry to grow up and to take relationship slower. Also to try to be more outgoing and study harder.

~What are your favorite hobbies?

I read. LOL I ride my bike, I run, I ski and I used to quilt, but haven’t for a while.

~Do you believe in love at first sight?

Not for me. But I believe in lust at first sight.

~Favorite drink? Alcoholic or not.

Wine

~What’s the one thing you can’t live without?

My mouse. I use a laptop, but I still need to use my mouse.

~If you had a superpower, what would it be?

I would love to be able to teleport. I’m not a fan of flying, but I do love to travel and go to book signing events. If I could just think it and be there? Wow. I would love that.

~What is your favorite TV show?

Games of Thrones, Vampire Diaries.

~Do you like to go out or stay home?

I am a complete home body. I hate to get dressed and go out. Sometimes it’s fun at night to go out to dinner or a movie, but during the day, I hate to leave the house.

~What is your favorite movie?

P.S. I love you, Armageddon, and Independence day.

~What is your preferred method to violently kill someone (in your book, of course)?

Poison

~Do you take the “personality” quizzes, like on Buzzfeed/Facebook?

I think they are fun.

~What is your favorite holiday?

Christmas

~What is your favorite/ go to cuss word?

Fuck and shit. Of Damn shows up a lot too.

~Do you like tattooed bad boys or sweet good guys?

I love the tattoos. I don’t have any but I love to look at them. I don’t like it when they are covered completely but I like them on the arms, hips, backs, chests. Not on the face though.

~What is one of your phobias?

Heights and snakes

25343773

A Gypsy’s Kiss (The Sectorium Series Book 1)

Excerpt

After my brief recuperation period, I went back into the game. A few minutes later, the ref blew his whistle for icing against the other team. That meant there would be a face-off. I skated to the spot on the ice where the referee held the puck. I had to face-off with the asswipe who’d elbowed me in the back, number four. Part of the fun of hockey was the violence, and learning to navigate through the complex systems and labyrinths of physical contact while still adhering to the code. An unwritten set of rules that had been handed down from generation to generation. The code picked up where the rulebook left off.
With my stick down on the ice and ready, number four put his stick down. The puck fell, and I got to it, sending it over to Tex, who took it down the ice. I skated to the corner and Tex shot the puck over to me. Number four came at me again, his gloved hand on his stick right at the level of my balls. I pivoted to my right, and he got me in the hip. This time, I dropped my stick and slung out a punch. When a player challenges another, that player must answer the call and stand up for his team. Number four was doing his best to show me up. Fights can turn the tide of the game and create momentum. This fight would be more than just my retaliation, it would also spark some energy for the team. Something we needed if we were going to win this game.
His first punch struck me on the left side of my jaw. Next thing I knew, our gloves were off and I’d sent out a punch to his face, my knuckles colliding with the side of his mouth. His helmet flew off. I took another punch to the face, which almost sent me to the ice as my own helmet rolled away, but I managed to stay up on my skates and got in a few more slugs before we were doing the fighter hug, my fist still pounding into his neck and chin. The battle was eventually stopped by the refs, and both number four and I headed to the penalty box. We each had five minutes to sit and brood. At least the teams were evenly numbered and there wouldn’t be any power play by the other team. I turned to glance at Breena. She looked worried. She needn’t worry about me, and I didn’t want her to worry, but it made me feel excellent that she might be concerned. It had been a hockey fight. Nothing more. It happened all the time. I sent her my best cocky grin, and she rolled her eyes.

Pre-Order Links

Amazon:  http://www.amazon.com/Gypsys-Kiss-Sectorium-Book-ebook/dp/B00V7DMMLY/

and Kobo: https://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/a-gypsy-s-kiss

iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/id979392579

B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/2940046290783

Kobo: https://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/a-gypsy-s-kiss

Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/529897

facebook Banner 1-7-15 copy

Stalker Links

http://susangriscom.com

http://www.amazon.com/Susan-Griscom/e/B008R94FNO/

Posted on April 15, 2015, in Author Interview, Romance, Spotlight and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

