Spotlight and Interview: Double Booked by CJ Anaya

 

Only .99 cents

 

Double booked

http://myBook.to/doublebooked

Analise is on assignment to prove or disprove a haunting, but her unexpected roommate is tall, dark and dangerous…and he has her in his sights.

EXCERPT

The gorgeous warlock behind me placed a comforting hand on my left shoulder while circling around to my right, resting his other arm on the counter. The slightly intimate position should have been reserved for couples, something we were most definitely not!

Gah!

So much for avoiding him. I couldn’t figure out if my body wanted to panic or purr.

“Excuse me, young lady.” He caught the blonde’s attention right away.

Oh, that voice. I felt a part of my body relax and another part of me tense as its velvety tones washed over me.

He continued. “I sometimes find that places such as these make the annoying mistake of double booking rooms during holidays in case of future cancellations. Could you simply do a search under…what is your name miss?”

I had to turn into him a little to meet his questioning look. The close contact, combined with the way his magic seemed to make a tentative grab for me made me tingle inside.

“Analise Lavelle.”

He smiled. “Lovely.” Then he turned back to the receptionist. “Could you do a search for Analise Lavelle, please?”

The rich baritone of his voice and the tender manner in which he made the request had the receptionist clicking away at that keyboard faster than I could down a cheeseburger.

I was doing my best not to react to the strange power within this man’s core. Magic was generally something that remained inactive until its master wielded it. This man’s magic seemed to have a mind of its own, attempting to draw me in as if it wanted to have a conversation with me…get to know me better.

You are insane, Analise. Just keep it together for a few more minutes.

While I gave myself a mental pep talk, the receptionist continued her frantic search. Every now and then she glanced up, giving the warlock a shy smile— something that earned several eye rolls from me—and then continued with her clicking and clacking. The sound drove home the relentless pounding in my cranium.

The handsome foreigner continued to remain right behind me, with his arms and body encircling my figure and his inner core of magic throwing wispy tendrils of welcome my way.

“Ah, here it is. We did double book the room, Ms. Lavelle, and it doesn’t look like the gentleman who shares the same reservation with you has canceled.”

She said it like it was a good thing.

“Gentleman? What gentleman?”

“A Mr. Miguel Galvez.” She squinted at the screen for a second. “Yep, it looks as if we put you both in the same suite.”

The man behind me let out a low chuckle that rumbled through his chest, warming my back, not to mention my heart strings. I needed to get out of here before I killed the receptionist and kissed the foreigner.

“What is so funny?” I asked. My voice came out more strained than I cared to admit. I mentally batted away a pesky tug from that weird inner magic this guy held.

“It’s just interesting how things work. You see, my name is Miguel Galvez.”

Interview

~What are you currently working on?

I just turned in book 3 in The Healer Series to my publisher, and I’m working on a contemporary romance called Marry Your Billionaire. It’s support to be a spoof off of The Bachelor and The Bachelorette.

~What writing advice do you have for aspiring authors?

I would advise authors to curb that need to edit what they are working on until they have finished their first rough draft. It’s tempting to edit and rewrite that first chapter without continuing forward, but you’ll find yourself unable to get past the first chapter if you do that. Don’t edit your thoughts or your words until everything is on the table. Then you can go back and rework your manuscript.

~Are you an organized author or scattered?

I’m getting more organized with every book I write. The first book was a mess simply because I didn’t understand my process. I hadn’t figured out what worked best for me. The more organized you are, the less time you waste trying to find papers you’ve written notes on about dialogue, possible scenes or any outlines you’ve made. Character sheets, plot sheets and note cards for story boarding are going to be your friends in all of this.

~Do you plot out your story or write as it goes?

I do a bit of both. I always have the beginning, middle and ending where I want it, but there are many times when outlines get thrown out the window because something else occurs to me when I’m in the moment.

~Do you have any strange writing habits?

I tend to write down things when I do dishes. All of that staring at soapy water makes me start thinking about scene orchestration and dialogue. So strange, but that’s what happens.

~Do you have writers block and how do you work around it?

I don’t think writer’s block exists. If you have your story outlined, with scenes organized and characters fairly fleshed out then you should have a good idea of what you’re doing and where you’re going. I only get blocked when I haven’t developed the story like I should have before I started writing. Then I wonder what should happen next and get stuck simply because I didn’t take the time to plot it out beforehand. It just takes that extra time to develop the hows and whys. I highly recommend doing it so you don’t find yourself stuck.

~Do you work on 1 story at a time or multiples?

I work on other stories when I’m editing something, and then I devote all of my time to those other stories while I wait for that other book to be edited and published.

~What is your favorite genre to read?

I love romance novels, especially historical romance and paranormal romance.

~What is the most wacky/crazy weird thing you received from a fan?

The only thing I’ve ever received from fans are hugs. LOL It was weird to get hugged by a random fifty-year-old man though.

~What are your favorite hobbies?

I love to sing, write songs, dance, do yoga, binge watch The Mindy Project and binge eat chocolate. Date night’s with my hubby and play time with my kids is great too.

~If you had a warning label what would it say?

Warning: No Filter Here!

~Favorite quote?

My therapist told me the way to achieve true inner peace is to finish what I start. So far I’ve finished two bags of M&Ms and a chocolate cake. I feel better already. Dave Barry

Find the Author

http://www.authorcjanaya.com/index.html

http://www.beaucoupllcpublishing.com/cj-anaya/

Posted on August 28, 2015, in Author Interview, Spotlight, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

