Author Interview: Barbi Barnard

12087567_1629334330668980_162088610_n[1]

~What are you currently working on?

I am currently working on book 4. It’s grittier and darker. It will give the back story of how Elizabeth became involved with the MC.

~What writing advice do you have for aspiring authors?

Advice for new Authors. Research all options before publishing. Whether self pub. or with a company do a little research. Once you have published, Promote yourself. Don’t just sit there and think people will know about your book. Get it out there.

~Are you an organized author or scattered?

I am far from organized. I use notes in a notebook. I have snippets in files I refer to and I get an idea from someone I might jot it down on my hand. I sit on the couch as I think the chairs are uncomfortable. So I have stuff scattered all around me.

~Do you plot out your story or write as it goes?

I had a beautiful plot outline when I wrote the first book. Followed it to the letter.  Then I wrote book 2 and I just went off. Things happened in the book I never thought of till I was writing.  Turned out those were the scenes people liked most.

~Do you have any strange writing habits?

I guess everyone does. I have to sit a certain way.  I have to have noise on and I have to have an idea that won’t go away.  My notebook is always nearby. Previous books are open in the background. And my book buddy is on standby to bounce ideas off of.

~Do you have writers block and how do you work around it?

I did on book 3. I wrote the first five chapters three times because I couldn’t get the story to flow in the direction I wanted it to go. And once again it went off on it’s own.

~Do you work on 1 story at a time or multiples?

Well I’m writing a series so I guess that’s one story. It all ties together for the characters and such. But I also have been jotting ideas for the next story when this is through.

~What is your favorite genre to read?

I have many. As long as it has an alpha male I am happy. Biker….Military….Cowboy. I prefer no vampires as I hated Edward Cullen.

~What is the most wacky/crazy weird thing you received from a fan?

A resume. They wanted a job at the Play Pen. That’s the fictional bar in the story. It listed all the right things to be hired. They asked for a dollar above minimum wage and free board.

~What are your favorite hobbies?

I read and play puzzle games on Facebook. I spend time with the Grand-kids and when the Hubs is home we visit family.

~If you had a warning label what would it say?

Coffee required before conversation. I am not a morning person.

~Favorite quote?

Be yourself, Nobody will ever be better at it than you.   ~Anonymous.

Posted on September 30, 2015, in Author Interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

