Author Interview: Samantha Cole

12066043_1628380740761474_7954702751206158410_n

Leather & Lace – http://amzn.to/1fk63f0
His Angel – http://amzn.to/1KK67l6
Waiting For Him – http://amzn.to/1NPGYUt

~What are you currently working on?

I’m taking a short break from the Trident Series to work on a stand alone contemporary romance which would not leave me alone.

~Who is your favorite author?

I have so many of them but my current must haves are from Cherise Sinclari and Lexi Blake

~What writing advice do you have for aspiring authors?

I wrote my first book three years before I began the Trident Series and while the story line was great, the writing sucked! I then took a very long break from writing. When I first wrote Leather & Lace, I again did a lot of things that were no-no’s in the writing community such as using too many dialogue tags and shifting POV’s in the middle of a scene. Thankfully I had a few more experienced authors who took the time to explain a lot of things to me and gave me their favorite reference sites and programs. Since then I’ve tried to pass them on to other up and coming authors. So my advice is, if someone offers you a way to make your book better, listen to them. Most authors want you to succeed as much as you want to.

~Which of your characters is your Book Boyfriend? Why?

Again this is hard… I love all my boys! But I think so far, Jake Donovan has been my favorite – too bad he’s gay! (And fictional!)

~Are you an organized author or scattered?

I’m pretty organized for the most part, but if a scene isn’t coming to me or a later scene pops into my head, I will jump ahead and write it then go back later on to connect the two scenes.

~Do you plot out your story or write as it goes?

I will start with a very basic idea of the story, but I usually write as I go.

~Which one of your characters is your absolute favorite? Why?

Again, I have to go with Jake. He was the most complex main character I’ve written to date and there was so much I learned about him that it actually surprised me in the end.

~Which one is your least favorite? Why?

Any of the bitches or villains in any of the books. Take your pick.

~Do you have any strange writing habits?

After multiple knee surgeries I got used to laying on my “L” shaped couch and having my laptop on my lap. Now it’s how I write all the time.

~Do you have writers block and how do you work around it?

Since I started the Trident Series, I can honestly say I haven’t had a true writer’s block. Sometimes if a scene isn’t coming to me, I either skip it and come back or go walk the dogs and play the last scene or two in my mind like a movie. Usually I’ll find the direction the story needs to go.

~Do you work on 1 story at a time or multiples?

I always have several books going at once, but I usually work on one primary. But if an idea pops up for one of the others, I’ll flip over and at least write the gist of it so I don’t forget.

~What is your favorite genre to read?

Suspense/romance with some hot sex – pretty much what I write.

~What is the most wacky/crazy weird thing you received from a fan?

Nothing wacky yet but the year isn’t over yet.

~If you could go back in time what is one thing you would tell your teenage self?

You know all these books you love to read? You’d be surprised you can write them too!

~What are your favorite hobbies?

Reading! Hands down, number one!

~Do you believe in love at first sight?

Yes.

~Name one of your pet peeves?

Most of them have to do with driving…Sunday drivers in the left lane, driving around with a blinker on, not having a kid in a car seat…etc.

~If you were a genie, what wish would you absolutely not grant?

Immortality.

~Favorite drink? Alcoholic or not.

Malibu Bay Breeze

~What’s the one thing you can’t live without?

My kindle – believe it or not, that beats my cell phone.

~If you could date a celebrity who would it be and why?

Let me get back to you on that one, lol.

~What is one thing no one knows about you?

Before I was adopted at 6 months old, my birth name was Ann Adelaide.

~Favorite sport/sports team?

NY Yankees!

~Do you have any hidden talents?

Not that I can think of

~Most hated chore?

Taking out the garbage.

~Pick two celebrities to be your parents.

Bob Hope and Grace Kelly

~Have you ever been in trouble with the police?

No, I was the police!

~If you had a superpower, what would it be?

The power to heal the sick or injured.

~If you could only eat one meal for the rest of your life, what would it be?

Surf & Turf – Filet Mignon and Lobster Tail

~Do you have any nicknames?

Gilligan and Cliffie – combined to Gilli-Cliff

~Do you like or dislike surprises? Why or why not?

Good surprises yes. Bad – no.

~What’s your favorite fast food chain?

Chilis

~If you had a warning label what would it say?

Do no interrupt my quiet time!

~If you had to describe yourself as an animal, which one would it be?

A unicorn – I’m unique!

~What is one thing you will never do again?

Take a ride in a glider – did it once! I’m not afraid of heights but I have a huge fear of falling.

~What was your first job?

Camp counselor

~Who is one person you would like to meet for coffee?

Billy Joel

~What is your favorite TV show?

M*A*S*H – still watch all the reruns

~Do you like to go out or stay home?

Stay home

~What is your favorite movie?

An oldie – Bells of St. Mary

~What is your preferred method to violently kill someone (in your book, of course)?

Triple tap – Head, chest, balls! (In the ass if it’s a woman)

~Are you a Tom boy or a girly girl?

Somewhere in between

~Do you take the “personality” quizzes, like on Buzzfeed/Facebook?

Yes

~What is your favorite holiday?

Christmas

~What is your favorite/ go to cuss word?

Shit or fuck – interchangeable

~Do you have any piercings/tattoos? If so where?

Pierced ears (only one hole in each… tried more but they got infected) 2 tattoos – 2 dolphins above my left shoulder blade and a hummingbird/butterfly/flower on my right ankle

~Do you like tattooed bad boys or sweet good guys?

Someone who’s a little bit of both

~Favorite quote?

Don’t really have one

~What is one of your phobias?

Falling

Find the Author

https://www.facebook.com/SamanthaColeAuthor/timeline

Posted on November 6, 2015, in Author Interview, Romance and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

